Women's Track & Field

Women's Track Team Ranks 25th on USTFCCCA Division I Track & Field All-Academic Team

Women's Track Team Ranks 25th on USTFCCCA Division I Track & Field All-Academic Team

Aug. 1, 2007

Providence, RI - The United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) recently announced its 2006-2007 All-Academic Teams. The Brown Women's Track & Field squad ranked 25th overall with a 3.310 GPA, and had many athletes receive individual honors for their academic achievements.

Senior Akilah King (Medford, MA), sophomore Jenna Ridgway (Santa Barbara, CA), junior Lindsay Kahn (Port Jefferson, NY), Naja Ferjan (Ljubljana, Slovenia), and sophomore Thelma Breezeatl (Manassas, VA) were each named to the 2007 Track & Field All-Academic Team. There are 415 student-athletes representing 117 Division I colleges and universities that made up the All-Academic team.

This season, King garnered First Team All-Ivy honors in the 200-meter dash, as she won the race in 24.04. She also earned Second Team All-Ivy in the triple jump with a 1-01.5, which ranks her third on the Bears' top ten list, and was also a member of the 400-relay squad that received Second Team All-Ivy honors. Her outstanding performances earned her a chance to participate in the NCAA regional meet.

Kahn earned Second Team honors in the 3,000-meter steeplechase with a 10:33.23, which qualified her for the regional meet. Brown's freshman standout, Breezeatl, was named to the Ivy League's First Team in the 100-meter dash, as well as the Second Team in the 200-meter dash. She was also a part of the Second Team All-Ivy 400-meter relay team.

Ferjan was a consistent scoring member throughout the cross-country season. Ran a personal Indoor best of 2:08.77 in the 800m open, tying the school record and placing 3rd at the Ivy League Championships. Ridgway quickly established herself as one of the League's top freshman, as she finished 20th at the Cross Country Heps, covering the 5K course in 18:11.40. She was also a co-recipient of Brown's Most Valuable Player award.