Waterman Selected to 2010-11 U.S. National Team

Waterman Selected to 2010-11 U.S. National Team

PROVIDENCE, RI – Women's lacrosse rising senior captain Paris Waterman (Newark, DE) has been named to the 36-member 2010-11 U.S. National team, following this weekend's final round of tryouts held at UMBC. The only current Ivy League student-athlete to make the team, Waterman is one of just three players from the Ivy League to earn a spot, joining Dartmouth alumni Colleen Olsen and Devon Wills. She is the first Brown player to be selected for the U.S. Team since Kerri Whitaker '96 (1996-1998) and joins Suzanne Bailey '91 (1991-1993) and Anne Marie Van Hengel '84 (1983) as the only Brown players to ever play for the U.S. Team.

The current field of 36 players was narrowed down from more than 80 players after three days of scrimmaging and drills. The team consists of five goalies, seven defenders, 16 midfielders, and eight attackers.

"What we wanted to accomplish was gather 36 players that we felt made up the best group as opposed to looking at the most individual talent," Team USA and Georgetown coach Ricky Fried said. "Who played well together, worked well and competed on a consistent basis? It was a competitive tryout, the most competitive I've seen in my four years here… We had some hard decisions to make, in a good way, and we feel lucky to have the group that we have for this year."

A midfielder, Waterman had a breakthrough season in 2010, earning First Team All-Ivy and First Team IWLCA North All-Region honors at the conclusion of the season. The Bears' second-leading scorer in 2010 with 39 points (33g, 6a), Waterman also led the team with 33 ground balls and 17 caused turnovers and was second with 24 draw controls. A three-year starter, Waterman has started all 45 games she has played in during the past three seasons, missing just one game, the Bears' very first game of her rookie season. She will enter her final season with 48 points (38g, 10a), 45 career caused turnovers, which ranks 14th all-time at Brown, 76 career ground balls, and 40 career draw controls.

Thirteen members of the team were on the 2009 U.S. World Cup championship team, including all-world selections Sara Albrecht, Amber Falcone, Kristen Kjellman and Lindsey Munday. They and the others selected Sunday are to be part of the core group that represents the U.S. in the 2013 World Cup, Fried said.
"That philosophy is great," Kjellman said. "I think that's what we should be planning to do, build that core throughout the next couple years and have that group stick together and play well over the years."
Fried said the team's strengths are its athleticism and speed. "We're going to be able to get up and down the field," he said. "Offensively, we have a lot of firepower back. Defensively, we're a young group but very athletic and I'm looking forward to working with them to bring them together as a unit."

The team competes for the first time on Columbus Day at the annual US Lacrosse Stars and Stripes event in Boston.
The team -- in last name alphabetical order, with position -- includes:
Sarah Albrecht, Northwestern, M
Casey Ancarrow, James Madison, A
Amy Altig, James Madison, G
Kelly Berger, James Madison, M
Sarah Bullard, Duke, M
Jill Byers, Notre Dame, A
Caroline Cryer, Duke, A
Katrina Dowd, Northwestern, A
Amber Falcone, North Carolina, D
Mary Fitzgerald, North Carolina, D
Corrine Gandolfi, Hofstra, A
Kimberly Griffin, James Madison, M
Kathleen Hertsch, Hofstra, D
Megan Huether, Duke, G
Kristin Igoe, Boston College, G
Ashby Kaestner, Georgetown, M
Alyssa Kildare, Johns Hopkins, D
Kristen Kjellman, Northwestern, M
Erica LaGrow, North Carolina, M
Kendall McBrearty, Virginia, G
Caitlyn McFadden, Maryland, M
Lindsey Munday, Northwestern, A
Colleen Olsen, Dartmouth, D
Brittany Poist, Maryland, D
Mallory Poole, C.W. Post, M
Kathryn Rowan, Syracuse, A
Jennifer Russell, North Carolina, D
Lauren Schmidt, Stanford, M
Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland, M
Lauren Schwarzmann, Johns Hopkins, M
Danielle Spencer, Northwestern, M
Michelle Tumolo, Syracuse, A
Acacia Walker, Maryland, M
Paris Waterman, Brown, M
Devon Wills, Dartmouth, G
Laura Zimmerman, North Carolina, M