Bears Announce 2004 Team Awards

Bears Announce 2004 Team Awards

May 10, 2004

Head coach Digit Murphy, along with assistants Ryan Stone and Jon Guiffre presented the annual Brown Women's Hockey Team Awards at a dinner held at the Johnson and Wales Inn on Friday, May 7. Among those honored at the dinner were two Brown seniors Kelly Sheridan '04 (Short Hills, NJ) and Marguerite McDonald '04 (Richboro, PA) who each played in 126 games in their respective careers at Brown.

The duo helped Brown to a winning season (18-11-2) and a fourth place finish in the Ivy League standings for the second year in a row with a 5-4-1 league mark. The Bears also finished 4th in the ECAC standings earning a spot in the ECAC semifinal game after sweeping Princeton in an ECAC Quarterfinal Series.

Murphy and staff gave out nine awards during the evening, including the annual Panda Cup and Chelsea McMillan Awards. The Panda Cup was given to Marguerite McDonald for her outstanding team spirit, good sportsmanship and dedication to playing ice hockey. The Chelsea McMillian Award is given to another senior who may not see a lot of ice time, but has worked hard to improve, supported her teammates, played her role on the team well and has become an important part of the Brown women's hockey team through that effort. This year's Chelsea McMMillan Award was given to Kelly Sheridan.

The Alli McMillan "Unsung Hero" Award is awarded annually to that player who exemplifies true dedication to Brown women's hockey and adds tremendously to the overall success of the team, but doesn't necessarily get the recognition she deserves. This year was the first time that co-winners were chosen for this award: Krissy McManus (Dedham, MA) '05 and Keaton Zucker '06 (Gilford, NH).

The Academic Excellence Award is given annually to that upperclassman who has the highest cumulative GPA. This year's winner, a two-time recipient, Chelsea Loughran '04 (Cotuit, MA).

The team high scorer award was given to Jessica Link '05 (Clifton Park, NY) for the second year in a row. Link finished her junior year with 28 goals and 20 points and also notched her 100th career point. She is ranked 7th overall in point scoring and 4th in goals scored in the league.

This year's Best Defensive Player was Ashlee Drover '06 (Bay Roberts, NF). Drover tallied three goals and nine assists on the season and was solid defensively throughout the year. The Most Improved Player Award was given to Margaret Ramsay '06 (Toronto, ONT). Ramsay was the Bears' 4th leading scorer with nine goals and 13 assists.

This year's Team Most Valuable Player was awarded to Amy McLaughlin '05 (Berlin, MA). McLaughlin was the Bears' 3rd leading scorer with six goals and 19 assists. She is also ranked 3rd overall for defenseman scoring in the league.

The 2004-2005 team captains were also named at the banquet. Next year's co-captains will be Katie Guay '05 (Westfield, MA) and McLaughlin. Assistant captains will be Link and Kerry Nugent '05 (Andover, MA).