Nine Women's Icers Earn ECAC All-Academic Honors

Nine Women's Icers Earn ECAC All-Academic Honors

March 14, 2003

Cape Cod, MA - The ECAC Division I Women's Hockey League All-Academic Team has been announced, and a total of nine student-athletes from Brown have been honored. Seniors Kim Insalaco (Rochester, NY), Courtney Johnson (Falmouth, MA), Jenny Rice (Denver, CO) and Mandy McCurdy (Johnstown, ONT); Junior Kelly Sheridan (Short Hills, N.J.); Sophmores Jessica Link (Clifton Park, NY), Katie Guay (Westfield, MA), Amy McLaughlin (Berlin, MA) and Kerry Nugent (Andover, MA), were all honored.

To be named to the all-academic team, student-athletes must have completed at least one academic year; have a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.00 on a 4.00 scale and have competed in at least one-half of her team's contests during the current season (goaltenders must have played in at least 33 percent of the team's minutes).

The ECAC features teams from Brown, Colgate, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, Princeton, St. Lawrence, Vermont and Yale. Each school boasts a strong hockey tradition and several of the programs have been among the nation's elite for years.

The annual awards banquet will be held at the Providence Marriott on Friday, March 14 at the ECAC JPMorgan Chase Hockey Championship hosted by Brown.