Five Players Earn ECAC All Academic Honors

Five Players Earn ECAC All Academic Honors

March 14, 2002

Courtney Johnson '03 is a Business Economics major, and has appeared in all 31 games this season for the Bears. She has recorded 9-24-33 totals for the season. Krissy McManus '04 is majoring in Economics, and has netted 16 goals and added 15 assists in 31 games played this season. Junior Jenny Rice is an International Relations and Spanish Literature double major. Rice has played in all 31 games, and totaled 2-6-8 this season. Emily Sigman '02 is majoring in psychology has played in all 31 games, and recorded 10 helpers on the season. Junior Whitney Talbot is a Business Economics major, and has played in 16 games this season.

This is the second year that the conference has named an all-academic team. A total of 49 student-athletes representing all nine league teams have been honored.

To be named to the all-academic team, student-athletes must have completed at least one academic year, have a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.00 on a 4.00 scale and have competed in at least one-half of her team's contests during the current season (goaltenders must have played in at least 33 percent of the team's minutes).

The ECAC-North features teams from Brown, Colgate, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, Princeton, St. Lawrence, Vermont and Yale. Each school boasts a strong hockey tradition and several of the programs have been among the nation's elite for years. In 2001, Dartmouth, Harvard and St. Lawrence all participated in the inaugural NCAA Championship, while Brown played in the title game of the AWCHA Championship in 2000.

The annual awards banquet will be held at Dartmouth College on Friday, March 15 at the ECAC JPMorgan Chase Hockey Championship.

Brown University -- Courtney Johnson, Jr., (Falmouth, Mass.), Krissy McManus, So., (Dedham, Mass.), Jenny Rice, Jr. (Denver, Colo.) Emily Sigman, Sr., (Milton, Mass.), Whitney Talbot, So., (New Canaan, Conn.)

Colgate University -- Katie Breen, So., (North Andover, Mass.), Maura Crowell, Sr., (Mansfield, Mass.), Nicole Lehrhoff, Jr., (Morristown, N.J.), Toby Mandel, Jr., (Sudbury, Mass.), Kelly Roos, Sr., (Milford, Conn.), Heather Smith, Sr., (Lake Bluff, Ill.)

Cornell University -- Sarah Carter, So., (Erie, Pa.), Erin Ellis, Jr., (St. Catharines, Ont.), Anita Khar, So., (Stamford, Conn.), Eva Nahorniak, Sr., (Sparks, Nev.), Erinn Perushek, Sr., (Maple Grove, Minn.), Kelly Pike, Jr., (Ottawa, Ont.)

Dartmouth College -- Kim McCollough, Sr., (Toronto, Ont.), Amy Catlin, Jr., (Hanover, N.H.), Carolyn Steele, Jr., (Clinton, N.Y.)

Harvard University -- Vanessa Bazzocchi, Sr., (Dorval, Que.), Kalen Ingram, Jr., (Peterborough, Ont.), Alison Kuusisto, Sr., (Duluth, Minn.), Lauren McAuliffe, So., (North Reading, Mass.), Mina Pell, So., (Washington, D.C.), Pamela Van Reesema, Jr., (Greenwich, Conn.)

Princeton University -- Aviva Grumet-Morris, Sr., (Evanston, Ill.), Jessica Fedderly, Sr., (Wyoming, Minn.), Melissa Deland, Sr., (Washington, D.C.), Wanda Mason, Sr., (Lewiston, Maine)

St. Lawrence University -- Rachel Barrie, So., (Arnprior, Ont.), Lindsay Charlebois, So., (Potsdam, N.Y.), Colleen Coakley, Sr., (Canton, N.Y.), Amy Hewitt, Jr., (Kanata, Ont.), Meghan Maguire, Sr., (East Falmouth, Mass.), Trisha Powers, Jr., (Spencerville, Ont.), Amanda Sargeant, Jr., (Port Moody, B.C.), Sara Simard, So., (Aylmer, Que.), Jessica Wilson, Sr., (Orleans, Ont.)

University of Vermont -- Jennifer Agnew, Sr., (Sabbatus, Maine), Rebecca Godsill, Jr., (Needham, Mass.), Ashlee Murdough, Jr., (Essex Junction, Vt.)

Yale University -- Wallis Finger, So., (New Rochelle, N.Y.), Katie Hirte, Sr., (Cottage Grove, Minn.), Amy LeClair, Jr., (Plainfield, N.H.), Deanna McDevitt, Jr., (Boston, Mass.), Rory Neuner, Jr., (Haslett, Mich.), Tara O'Donnell, So., (Carlisle, Mass.), Sara Wood, Sr., (Randolph, Mass.)