Women's Hockey Skates To 5-0 Shutout Victory Over Colgate

Women's Hockey Skates To 5-0 Shutout Victory Over Colgate

Nov. 23, 2002

Providence, RI - The women's hockey team skated to a 5-0 shutout victory over Colgate Saturday afternoon at Meehan Auditorium. The Bears out-shot the Red Raiders 51-5 in the ECAC contest, dominating play the entire game. Brown improves to 4-3-1 overall and 3-1-0 in ECAC play with the win.

The Bears got on the board four minutes into the game at 4:31 when senior Kim Insalaco fired in a rocket from the left side that sophomore Amy McLaughlin chipped in. Sophomore Jessica Link also earned an assist on the play. The Bears did not allow the Red Raiders one shot on goal in the period, out-shooting them 10-0.

The second period was much of the same with Brown out-shooting Colgate 22-2 with senior goalkeeper Pam Dreyer picking up her first and second saves of the game. Brown increased its lead to 2-0 with 15 seconds remaining in the period. Senior Courtney Johnson picked up her third goal of the weekend when she lifted the puck past Colgate goaltender Rebecca Lahar near the net off a perfect set-up by Link.

The Bears added three insurance goals in the third to skate to an easy 5-0 shutout victory. Junior Katie Lafleur netted her third goal of the weekend at the 10:16 mark. Lafleur tipped in a shot by freshman Ashlee Drover near the net to give Brown a 3-0 edge. Junior Kelly Sheridan also picked up an assist on the play.

At the 14:56 mark, McLaughlin scored her second goal of the game when she slipped the puck past Lahar on the left side. The team added one more goal with 1:30 left in the game when Link charged up the ice passing to junior Kerry Nugent. Nugent fired in a quick shot that Lahar was able to block but Link was there to slip the rebound in despite being off-balanced. Dreyer kept the shutout in play as she stopped the Red Raiders three shots in the final period. Overall, Dreyer recorded five saves as the Bears out-shot Colgate 46-5.

Brown continues action on Tuesday Nov. 26th at 7:00 p.m. for the 8th annual Mayor's Annual Cup