Five Women’s Ice Hockey Student-Athletes Named to ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – ECAC Hockey has announced its 2010-2011 All-Academic team and five women's ice hockey student-athletes have been selected. Sophomores Laurie Jolin and Katie Jamieson are joined by freshmen Jessica Hoyle, Vanessa Welten and Aubree Moore.

Jolin, the team's leading scorer last season, is studying human sciences, while Jamieson, who saw the lions-share of minutes between the pipes for the Bears, is undeclared. Hoyle, who quickly became a stalwart on the top line for Brown, is a COE concentrator. Welten proved to be a gifted offensive threat down the stretch for Bruno and is a biology major. Moore, a rookie netminder, is majoring in geology. 

One hundred thirty-eight student-athletes representing the ECAC Hockey's 12 women's programs were named to the 2010-11 ECAC Hockey All-Academic team. Eighty of this year's student-athletes were also named to the team last year and 47 have the distinction of receiving the honor the last three seasons. Of the 12 institutions, Yale leads the way with 19 honorees, followed by Dartmouth and Quinnipiac with 14, and Cornell, Harvard, and Union with 13.

Players are eligible for the All-Academic team if they earn a cumulative grade point average of at least a 3.00 on a 4.00 scale or have a GPA over 3.00 over the past three semesters.