14 Bears Named to 2008 NFHCA Division I National Academic Squad

March 3, 2009

PROVIDENCE, RI - Fourteen members of the field hockey team were named to the 2008 National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) National Academic Squad. The National Academic Squad program recognizes those collegiate student-athletes who have achieved a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.30 through the first semester of the 2008-09 academic year. In addition, Brown was one of 65 Division I teams to earn the 2008 NFHCA Division I National Academic Team Award. This award recognizes those institutions that achieve a minimum GPA of 3.0 during the first semester of the 2008-09 academic year.

Brown's 14 is tied for 10th overall with Columbia, as the Bears and the Lions had the highest number of student-athletes recognized in the Ivy League. Also with 14 players on the National Academic Squad are Indiana, Louisville, Radford, and Vermont. Only LaSalle (18), Old Dominion (16), Penn State (16), American (15), Appalachian State (15), Central Michigan (15), Monmouth (15), Sacred Heart (15), and Towson (15) had more student-athletes selected to the National Academic Squad than Brown.

Brown's honored athletes include four-time honoree Natalie Harrington '09 (Locust Valley, NY), three-time honorees Whitney Knowlton '10 (Columbus, OH) and Nora Malgieri '10 (Gates Mills, OH), and two-time honorees Abby Hein '10 (Greenwood Village, CO), Katie Hyland '11 (Riegelsville, PA), Cassie Puhalla '11 (Forty Fort, PA), and Tess Standa '09 (Lake Bluff, IL). Caitlin Conn '12 (Brewster, NY), Laura Iacovetti '12 (Blue Bell, PA), Kit Masini '12 (Ann Arbor, MI), Bridget McNamara '12 (Bethesda, MD), Leslie Springmeyer '12 (New Vernon, NJ), Abigail Taft '12 (Shaker Heights, OH), and Caroline Washburn '12 (Pittsburgh, PA) are all first-time honorees.