Five Women's Rowers Named National Scholar Athletes

Five Women's Rowers Named National Scholar Athletes

June 1, 2005

The Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) announced its 2005 National Scholar Athletes and five members of the Brown women's crew were selected. Senior tri-captain Catherine Starr, junior tri-captain Gillian Almy, junior Academic All-Ivy selection Deborah Dryer, junior coxswain Mira Mehta and sophomore Rachel Dearborn all received honors for their dedication not only on the water but in the classroom as well. All five maintained cumulative grade point averages of 3.5 or higher and were members of the varsity eight boat.

A total of 142 student-athletes from 49 schools were honored for their efforts during the 2005 season. The total number of recipients improved from the 2004 season, when 124 student-athletes were honored.

Brown was one of seven schools to have at least five athletes honored, including just one of two schools to have advanced to the NCAA Championships as a team.

Starr rowed in the number four seat of the varsity eight at this year's NCAA Championships. An NYU transfer, Starr also received First Team All-Region honors for this season.

Almy sat in the bow and was a Second Team All-Region selection. Dryer stroked the varsity eight for the second straight season and was a Second Team All-Region selection. Mehta served as the Bears' varsity eight coxswain throughout the season after being bumped up from the second varsity eight at last year's National Championships. She earned Second Team Regional honors this season. Dearborn has rowed in the varsity eight boat for the last two national championships. As only a freshman, she moved up to the varsity boat for NCAA's last season, leading Brown to a first place finish.