Women's Crew Selected for NCAAs

Women's Crew Selected for NCAAs

May 22, 2002

PROVIDENCE, RI - The Brown women's crew has been selected for the NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Championships to be held May 31-June 2 at Eagle Creek Reservoir in Indianapolis, Indiana.

The team championship is comprised of twelve teams, and each team is required to field two boats of eight rowers each and one boat of four rowers. In addition, four eight-women boats from institutions not represented in the team competition are selected.

Brown will look to capture its third NCAA championship in the last four years as the Bears won national titles in 1999 and 2000. Last year, Brown finished third overall in the NCAAs at Lake Lanier in Gainesville, Georgia behind Washington and Michigan.

This season, both the Brown varsity eight (9-0) and second varsity eight (9-0) have turned in undefeated records. Brown rowed to first place finishes in varsity and second-varsity eights at the EAWRC Sprints on the Cooper River in Camden, NJ on May 12. For the Brown varsity eight, it was the fifth consecutive top finish at the Easterns. The Bears took home the Sally P. Shoemaker Trophy for the best finish by an Ivy League school in the varsity eight event; the Nathaniel Case Trophy for winning the varsity eight, and the second varsity eight championship trophy.

Head coach John Murphy has compiled a 99-33 overall record since taking over in 1985, including a 53-20 record in Ivy League competition. Since 1996, Murphy's crews have put together an incredible 55-3 record, including this year's 9-0 record, and the team has not lost an Ivy regatta since 1997, a string of 21 straight wins.

Teams: Brown, California, Harvard, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Princeton, Stanford, Syracuse, Virginia, Washington, Yale

At-large Eights: Cornell, Notre Dame, Southern California, Washington State