Bears In Hunt For Fourth National Title

Bears In Hunt For Fourth National Title

May 18, 2004

Indianapolis, IN - The NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Committee has selected the teams that will compete in the NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Championship and Brown, a perennial power, was included on the invitation list. The Championship will be held May 28-30 at the CSUS Aquatic Center in Sacramento, California with California State University-Sacramento serving as host.

Brown has won three of the last six national championships, capturing titles in 1999, 2000 and 2002. Last season the Bears were runners-up. Head Coach John Murphy's team finished this year's regular season with a 9-2 record, going undefeated after losing its first regatta of the season. The Bears went 4-1 in Ivy action, including a five-race sweep over last year's National Champion Radcliffe.

The Bears finished first overall in the team standings at the Eastern Sprints, earning gold medals in the second varsity eight and second novice eight races. Both of those boats remain undefeated this season.

In the lastest EAWRC Coaches Poll, Brown's varsity eight is ranked second while its second varsity is ranked number one. The Bears first novice eight is second while the second novice eight is first. In addition, Brown's third varsity eight is also ranked at the top.

The NCAA team championship is comprised of 12 teams and each team is required to field two boats of eight rowers and one boat of four rowers. In addition, four eight-women boats from institutions not represented in the team competition are selected.

The selection of teams and individual boats was based on eligibility and availability of student-athletes; regional championship results; regional rankings; late-season performance; head-to-head results; results against teams/boats already selected; results against common opponents; and results against regionally ranked teams/boats. One team from each region was selected and the remaining seven teams were selected at-large.

Below is a complete list of the schools chosen to compete at the 2004 NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Championship:

Michigan State
Ohio State
Washington State

Notre Dame
Southern California