Bears Selected To Compete At 2006 NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Championship

Bears Selected To Compete At 2006 NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Championship

May 16, 2006

Indianapolis, IN - The NCAA announced the selections for the 2006 Division I Women's Rowing Championship on Tuesday afternoon and on the list was the Brown women's crew, winners of four of the last seven national championships. The Championships will be held on Mercer Lake in West Windsor, NJ from May 26-28. The Bears have received an invite to every championship since the NCAA began sponsoring the event in 1997.

A total of 12 teams were chosen to take part in the championship, including Ivy League rivals Princeton and Yale. Another four teams were also selected to take part in the varsity eight event only, however, those teams will not be eligible for the team championship.

Brown has won a record four national titles, including the 2004 championship, while Washington has captured three. Last year, the Bears finished third overall while Cal took home its first-ever national crown. Head Coach John Murphy has guided Brown to top three finishes at every NCAA Championship since 1997.

The Bears' varsity eight is currently ranked fifth in the nation after finishing second to Princeton at the EAWRC Sprints Championships last weekend. Brown took home its third straight Willings Team Trophy though, showcasing a strong all-around performance. The undefeated second varsity eight won in convincing fashion as did the varsity fours. Phoebe Murphy's novice eight took second as well.

This marks the first time the championship will be held on Mercer Lake. The last two championships were held on Lake Natoma in Sacramento, CA. The 2000 championship, which Brown won, was held on the Cooper River in Camden, NJ.

2006 NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Championship Selections
Brown University
University of California-Berkeley
Michigan State University
University of Notre Dame
The Ohio State University
Princeton University
Stanford University
University of Tennessee
University of Washington
University of Wisconsin
Yale University

At-Large Varsity Eight Selections
Boston University
University of Minnesota
University of Southern California
University of California-Los Angeles