Women's Crew Earns Charles Willing Jr. Team Trophy at EAWRC Sprints

Women's Crew Earns Charles Willing Jr. Team Trophy at EAWRC Sprints

May 18, 2008

Camden, NJ - The Brown women's crew claimed the 2008 Ivy League Championship and the Charles Willing Jr. Team Trophy after dominating its competition at the 2008 EAWRC Sprints on the Cooper River on Sunday. All five of Bruno's boats competed in the grand finals, as the Bears claimed the varsity, second varsity and novice eight titles.

The varsity eight, ranked first in the EAWRC coaches poll, advanced to the grand finals following a first-place finish in its preliminary heat (6:31.488). Battling with the feisty Bulldogs throughout the entire race, Brown turned up the heat in the final 500m to earn the winning time of 6:24.024. Yale came in right behind with a 6:25.192 for second, followed by Radcliffe (6:30.554), Princeton (6:31.111), Pennsylvania (6:41.578) and Boston University (6:44.199).

Brown's #1 ranked second varsity eight advanced to the grand finals after registering a 6:52.022 in its preliminary heat. Bruno took top honors in the grand final, winning the gold medal with a 6:36.972. In second was the Dartmouth Big Green (6:43.629), followed by Yale (6:44.101), Radcliffe (6:54.132), Boston University (6:57.598), and Cornell (7:03.599).

The Bears' #1 novice eight also cruised to the grand finals after defeating Yale by 10 seconds in the semis (6:46.692). Bruno battled in the finals, posting a 6:44.968 to earn the title. Princeton finished in second (6:49.978), followed by Cornell (6:52.703), Radcliffe (6:53.038), Dartmouth (7:02.306), and Yale (7:06.987).

After winning its heat with a 7:43.097, Brown's third varsity four A crew placed second to Yale in the grand finals. Both crews battled, but the Bulldogs turned in the winning time of 7:11.706, as Bruno came in just four seconds later with a time of 7:15.782. Radcliffe earned third place (7:26.094), followed by Pennsylvania (7:28.943), Princeton (7:38.787), and Dartmouth (7:43.413).

Brown's third varsity four B also won its heat this morning with an 8:11.942. It was once again Yale and Brown going neck and neck, as the Bulldogs pulled ahead and recorded the winning time of 7:32.790. Brown B earned second place with a time of 7:36.318, followed by Syracuse B (7:42.656), Dartmouth B (7:47.622), Radcliffe B (7:57.694) and Boston University (8:17.375).