Brown Women's Crew Places First in Two Events in Grand Final

Brown Women's Crew Places First in Two Events in Grand Final

May 13, 2007

Camden, NJ - After advancing all five boats to the Grand Finals at the EAWRC Sprints on Sunday, Brown's Novice Eight and Second Varsity Eight crews were able to claim titles in the afternoon's races on the Cooper River.

The Novice Eight cruised to a first-place finish and win a gold medal with a time of 6:51.1. Following the Bears was UPenn (7:03.7) in second, Yale (7:08.4) in third, Syracuse (7:13.7) in fourth, Radcliffe (7:21.7) in fifth, and Rutgers finished last with a 7:24.1.

Bruno was also able to claim first in the Second Varsity Eight, where the quick crew finished with a 6:39.9, and Radcliffe came in behind with a 6:46.9. Taking third was Yale with a 6:49.1, fourth was Princeton with a 6:52.401, Dartmouth took fifth with a 6:58.6 and Penn finished last with a time of 7:03.7.

Yale claimed the Ivy League title in the Varsity Eight race, as they crossed the line at 6:28.6. Brown followed closely behind with a 6:32.2 for second, and Princeton came in third with a 6:35.6. Radcliffe placed fourth with a 6:37.0, Dartmouth came in fifth with a 6:40.4, and Northeastern finished last with a time of 6:49.8. The Bulldogs were awarded with the Sally P. Shoemaker trophy, which is given to the Ivy team with the best finish in the Varsity Eight race.

In the Third Varsity Four "B" race, Radcliffe took first with a 7:52.7, as Princeton came in second with a 7:57.1. Third place was won by Yale with an 8:03.1, Navy came in fourth with an 8:13.0, Boston University in fifth with an 8:16.4 and Brown finished last with an 8:20.4.

Brown's Third Varsity Four "A" was able to pick up the slack, as they picked up the bronze medal with a time of 7:42.5. First belonged to Yale with a 7:28.8, and second was claimed by Radcliffe's 7:38.7.

Yale also went home with the Charles Willing Jr. Team trophy, which was awarded to the team that had the best results in the Varsity and Novice events. Although Brown and Yale tied in points at the end of the day, Yale was given the trophy because of their finish in the Varsity Eight race.