Burr And Robertson Earn RI Division I Coach/Player of the Year Honors

Burr And Robertson Earn RI Division I Coach/Player of the Year Honors

March 29, 2005

Warwick, RI - Brown women's basketball head coach Jean Marie Burr has been named the Rhode Island Division I Coach of the Year after leading the Bears to their most wins in over ten years this past season. In addition, senior center Holly Robertson earned the Rhode Island Division Player of the Year award. Robertson finished third in the Ivy League in scoring and second in rebounding with 14.9 and 8.7 per game respectively. The awards were presented at a press conference held at the Radisson Airport Hotel in Warwick, RI on Tuesday. It marks the second straight year a Brown player has been named the Division I Player of the Year as Nyema Mitchell '04 received the award last year.

Burr, who has been at the helm for 17 years, is the winningest coach in Brown basketball history (men's & women's), compiling 243 wins. The Bears 18 wins this season were the third most in the program's 31 year history. Burr led Brown to two tournament championships earlier in the season, the first time ever the Bears won two tournaments in one season. For the second straight year, Brown led the Ivy League in rebounding. Burr easily secured her 14th winning Ivy League season as the Bears finished 10-4, including wins over co-Ivy champions Harvard and Dartmouth.

Robertson earned First Team All-Ivy recognition She led Brown in scoring in 12 games this season, highlighted by a season-high 24-point performance against Princeton. Robertson tied for the league lead in double-doubles with nine and was just two points or two rebounds shy of recording nine other double-doubles on the season. She scored 15 or more points in 17 games and scored more than 20 points in five games.

The 6-5 center ranked second in the league with 1.9 blocks per outing and recorded 1.4 steals per game as well. In a 66-65 win over Rhode Island, she pulled in a career-high 15 rebounds. Robertson was named the MVP of the Binghamton Time Warner Classic and the Brown Classic, leading the Bears to both titles. As a junior in 2003-04, she was selected to the All-Ivy Second Team.