Brown Earns 43-5 Win Over Sacred Heart But Falls to Columbia 25-12

Brown Earns 43-5 Win Over Sacred Heart But Falls to Columbia 25-12

PROVIDENCE, RHODE ISLAND – The Brown wrestling team (9-9, 3-6 EIWA) concluded the 2012-2013 regular season today with two duel matches, falling to the Columbia Lions, 25-12, before defeating the Sacred Heart Pioneers, 43-5.

In the first match of the day the Bears fought valiantly against a tough Lions' squad, earning a victory in the first bout of the day before loosing by the slimmest of margins in the next six weight classes. Wrestling at 125 pounds, junior Billy Watterson (Pound Ridge, NJ) defeated Penn Gottfried, 8-7, to give Brown a lead early on. The win lifts Watterson to an overall record of 16-14 and a winning record of 5-4 in EIWA matches.

Columbia went on a tear after that, building a 22-3 lead over Brown though 165 pounds, but sophomore Ophir Bernstein (Allen, TX) halted the visitors momentum with his win, pinning Drew Rebling in 4:09 at 184 pounds. The victory was his 19th of the season and it lifted his EIWA record to 7-2.

In the final match-up of the duel, sophomore DJ Ingham (Fulton, NY) gave the Bears their third win of the day, defeating Chris Manna, 6-4, but it wasn't quite enough, as the Lions would take the 25-12 victory.

Brown earned a commanding win in its second duel of the day, winning eight of the nine weight classes contested against Sacred Heart to earn the 43-5 triumph. Watterson pinned his opponent in 3:46 to earn his second win of the day, while junior Cortlandt Choate (Orwigsburg, PA), sophomore Ricky McDonald (Carson City, NV) and freshman Augustus Marker (Castle Rock, CO) all wrestled to victory over their opponents in the team's win.

Brown finishes the regular season 9-9 over all and 3-6 in EIWA duels. The Bears will now prepare themselves for the EIWA Championships to be held on March 8 and 9 in Piscataway, N.J. For information on the 2013 EIWA Championships, visit the tournament site here.

Columbia 25, Brown 12
125: Billy Watterson (Brown) won by decision over Penn Gottfried (Columbia) 8-7
133: Matt Bystol (Columbia) won by decision over Anthony Finocchiaro (Brown) 2-1
141: Alec Mooradian (Columbia) won by decision over Cortlandt Choate (Brown) 2-0
149: Steve Santos (Columbia) won by decision over Zachary Tanenbaum (Brown) 4-1
157: Jake O'Hara (Columbia) won by major decision over Philip Marano (Brown) 11-3
165: Josh Houldsworth (Columbia) won by pin over Giuseppi Lanzi (Brown) 1:51
174: Stephen West (Columbia) won by decision over Ricky McDonald (Brown) 7-2
184: Ophir Bernstein (Brown) won by pin over  Drew Rebling (Columbia) 4:09
197: Nick Mills (Columbia) won by decision over Augustus Marker (Brown) 8-5
285: DJ Ingham (Brown) won by decision over  Chris Manna (Columbia) 6-4

Brown 43, Sacred Heart 5
125: Billy Watterson (Brown) won by pin over Joe Harris (Sacred Heart) 3:46
133: Andrew Molidore (Sacred Heart) won by technical fall over Vincent Moita (Brown) 16-0, 4:32
141: Cortlandt Choate (Brown) won by technical fall over David Barbar (Sacred Heart) 19-2, 3:58
149: Zachary Tanenbaum (Brown) won by forfeit
157: Philip Marano (Brown) won by forfeit
165: Giuseppi Lanzi (Brown) won by forfeit
174: Ricky McDonald (Brown) won by technical fall over Sam Sheppard (Sacred Heart) 17-1, 3:37
184: Ophir Bernstein (Brown) won by forfeit
197: Augustus Marker (Brown) won by decision over Sam Morison (Sacred Heart) 11-5
285: DJ Ingham (Brown) won by forfeit