Three Wrestlers Place as Brown Finishes Eighth at the Keystone Classic

Three Wrestlers Place as Brown Finishes Eighth at the Keystone Classic

PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA – The Brown University wrestling team traveled to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania on Sunday, November 18th to compete in the 18th annual Keystone Classic. The competition, hosted by the Penn Quakers, featured 15 different squads from around the country, including four Ivy League teams. Northwestern ran away with the title, scoring 156 points and claiming first place in four different weight categories, while Penn (102.5) and Rider (91.0) rounded out the top three. The Bears, led by Billy Watterson (Pound Ridge, NY), Ophir Bernstein (Allen, TX) and Sterling Hecox (Harlem, IL), finished in eighth place with a total of 52 points.


Watterson, wrestling at 125, won his first two matches of the day, defeating Peter Terrezza of Duke and David Terao of American, before falling to Mark Rappo of Penn. In the wrestlebacks he was defeated by Dominic Parisi of Appalachian State, sending him to the fifth place match where he triumphed over Jeff Ott of Harvard to score points for the Bears.


In the 184 category, Bernstein took his first match of the day, defeating Tom Barreiro of American, before falling, 6-4, to Canaan Bethea of Penn. He went on a tear in the wrestlebacks however, pinning three consecutive opponents to earn his way into the third place match. He was ultimately pinned in 6:28 by Scott Gibbons of Princeton to earn a fourth place finish for Brown.


The highlight of the day for the Bears was Hecox's run to the championship match in the 197 category.  He defeated Donald McNeil of Rider in the first round before taking down Conner Hartmann of Duke in his second match of the day. Having qualified for the final, he ultimately succumbed to Rich Perry of Bloomsburg by medical forfeit.


Brown will return to competition on November 30th, when they head to Las Vegas, Nevada for the two-day Cliff Keen Invitational.



Billy Watterson

Defeated Peter Terrezza (Duke), 10-7

Defeated David Terao (American), 1-0

Defeated by Mark Rappo (Penn), 9-3

Defeated by Dominic Parisi (Appalachian State), 14-5 (major defeat)

Defeated Jeff Ott (Harvard), 5-3, for a fifth place finish


Vincent Moita

Pinned Elliot Zackowski (Bloomsburg), 2:44

Defeated Armando Herrera (VMI), 6-2

Defeated by Jeff Ott (Harvard), 8-2

Defeated by Evan McKirdy (Cal Poly), 9-4



Daniel Flowers

Defeated by Geoffrey Bostany (Penn), 7-0

Defeated by Esteban Gomez-Rivera (American), 13-4 (major defeat)


Beau Martino

Defeated by Ryan Osleeb (Harvard), 7-3

Defeated John Coukos (Northwestern), 5-3

Defeated by Jeff Canfora (Penn), 8-3


Anthony Finocchiaro

Pinned by Jimmy Morris (Rider), 3:55

Pinned Brandon Goodwin (VMI), 1:58

Pinned Eric Friedman (Penn), 5:15

Pinned by Brandon Gambucci (Duke), 2:01



Zachary Tanenbaum

Defeated Zachary Kechter (Appalachian State), 10-0 (major defeat)

Defeated by Charles Cobb (Penn), 14-4 (major defeat)

Defeated Joe Boswell (VMI), 10-3

Pinned by Michael Avelar (North Carolina State), 1:50


Cortlandt Choate

Defeated by Eric Roach (Indiana), 4-3

Defeated Acton Pifer (Appalachian State), 5-3

Defeated by Michael Avelar (North Carolina State), 3-2



Zachary Rees

Pinned Aaron Scott (Appalachian State), 5:15

Pinned by Marcus Cain (Duke), 3:53

Defeated Nick Stager (Harvard), 7-1

Defeated by Joe Rendazzo (Indiana), 9-3



CJ Howard

Defeated by Raaheim Bethea (Penn), 7-3

Defeated by Kyle Roddy (Princeton), 16-4



Jack Roberts

Defeated by Sawyer Morris (Indiana), 12-2

Defeated by Ian Roy (Harvard), 8-1


Austin Rugraff

Defeated by Paul Woodman (Cal Poly), 3-1

Defeated by Ryan Konz (Indiana), 5-1


Will VanDoren

Defeated by Ian Roy (Harvard), medical forfeit

Defeated by Sawyer Morris (Indiana), medical forfeit



Giuseppi Lanzi

Defeated Cheny Dale (Indiana), 7-1

Defeated John Dommert (VMI), 10-1 (major defeat)

Defeated by Ian Korb (Penn), 11-10

Defeated by Collin Hedash (Appalachian State), 8-0 (major defeat)


Ricky McDonald

Defeated Mitchell Woods (Cal Poly), 10-3

Pinned by James Brundage (Rider), 1:53

Defeated by Harrison Cook (Penn), 4-1


Seth Nolan

Defeated by Trey Adamson (Duke), 12-10

Defeated by Collin Hedash (Appalachian State), 11-3 (major defeat)



Ophir Bernstein

Defeated Tom Barreiro (American), 8-3

Defeated by Canaan Bethea (Penn), 6-4

Pinned Jesse Johnson (Appalachian State), 1:06

Pinned Andre Petroski (Bloomsburg), 0:32

Pinned Sean Dougherty (Cal Poly), 3:33

Pinned by Scott Gibbons (Princeton), 6:28 for a fourth place finish


Sebastien Levin

Defeated Jesse Johnson (Appalachian State), 7-5

Defeated by Sean Dougherty (Cal Poly), 5-2

Defeated by Tom Barreiro (American), 8-3



Augustus Marker

Defeated by Brian Self (Duke), 4-0

Defeated by Paul Weiss (Appalachian State), 5-0


Sterling Hecox

Defeated Donald McNeil (Rider), 8-7

Defeated Conner Hartmann (Duke), 15-14

Defeated by Rich Perry (Bloomsburg), medical forfeit, for second place



Marcos Aranda

Defeated by Atticus Disney (Cal Poly), 12-3 (major defeat)

Defeated Juan Adams (VMI), 3-2

Defeated by Kyle Cowan (Penn), 8-2