Bears Victorious Over Franklin & Marshall and Millersville

Bears Victorious Over Franklin & Marshall and Millersville

Lancaster, Pa. – The Brown wrestling team concluded a whirlwind road weekend on Saturday at Franklin & Marshall and Millersville. After a tough Friday night against No. 16 Rutgers and Rider, Brown got back on the winning track, defeating the Diplomats 30-17, before downing Marauders 32-15.

"I thought the mental toughness of the team showed up," said head coach Dave Amato. "After two tough matches last night, our team responded well and stayed focused to collect two wins today."

Sophomore Billy Watterson  (Pound Ridge, N.Y.) extended his win streak to four matches in 2012 at 125, pinning F&M's David Hershberger in 5:24, before picking up a forfeit victory at Millersville.

Senior Ricky Bailey (Palmayra, N.J.), who made his 2011-12 debut last night went 2-0 on the day at 149, defeating F&M's Andrew Murano 10-5 before winning big over Millersville's Zac Wawrzyniak-Bush, 13-4.

A third Bear also posted a perfect day as rookie Ophir Bernstein (Allen, Texas) registered two pin fall victories. Bernstein was locked in at 184, pinning Franklin & Marshall's Matt Latessa in 2:59 and then Millersville's Ryan Nielsen in 1:25.

Brown will be back in action next weekend when they travel to Dallas, Texas for the Lone Star Duals on Saturday, January 14.


Full Results 

Brown 30, Franklin & Marshall 17

125: Billy Watterson, Brown, pinned David Hershberger, F&M, 5:24.
133: Christian Martino, Brown, dec. Robert Ruiz, F&M, 10-9.
141: Richard Durso, F&M, maj. dec. Zachary Tanenbaum, BROW, 13-4.
149: Richard Bailey, Brown, dec. Andrew Murano, F&M, 10-5.
157: Giuseppi Lanzi, Brown, pinned Eric Norgard, F&M, 6:58.
165: Patrick Labuz, Brown, pinned Christopher Bache, F&M, 0:19.
174: Matt Fullowan, F&M, dec. Richard McDonald, Brown, 4-1.
184: Ophir Bernstein, Brown, pinned Matt Latessa, F&M, 2:59.
197: Colin Ely, F&M, maj. dec. Marcos Aranda, Brown, 10-2.
285: Alexander Henry, F&M, forf. 

Brown 32, Millersville 15
125: Billy Watterson (Brown) won by forfeit
133: Daniel Flowers (Brown) won by forfeit
141: Joshua Ruppert (Millersville) won by pin over Christian Martino (Brown) 1:03
149: Richard Bailey (Brown) won by decision over Steve Hess (Millersville) 7-3
157: Max Lewin (Brown) won by major decision over Zac Wawrzyniak-Bush (Millersville) 13-4
165: Brandon Vernalli (Millersville) won by decision over Patrick Labuz (Brown) 9-7
174: Dave Foxen (Brown) won by major decision over Shane Smith (Millersville) 16-2
184: Ophir Bernstein (Brown) won by pin over Ryan Nielsen (Millersville) 1:25
197: Marcos Aranda (Brown) won by decision over Joel Suter (Millersville) 8-2
285: Bradley Ladd (Millersville) won by forfeit