Men's Track & Field

Men's Cross Country Opens 2003 Season with Second Place Finish in Boston, Defeating Harvard

Men's Cross Country Opens 2003 Season with Second Place Finish in Boston, Defeating Harvard

Sept. 12, 2003

Boston, MA - The Men's Cross Country team placed second in a meet against nine other New England area colleges at Franklin Park on Friday September 12. Traditionally, Brown races Harvard head-to-head for the season opener, but seven additional teams accepted invitations to join the competition this year. The Brown men defeated Harvard in dual meet scoring and retained the Alden Trophy, an award given out to the combined men's and women's winner of this annual match-up.

The men finished with a team score of 74, behind Providence College's 29. Scored against Harvard, the Bears defeated the Crimson easily 21-40.

Junior Patrick Tarpy (Yarmouth, ME) placed first for Brown and an impressive third overall out of a field of 85 runners with a time of 24:26 for the 8,000 meter race. Also in the top ten was Senior Captain Matthew Emond (Green Harbror, MA), who placed seventh with a time of 24:46. Two freshmen were scorers for the Brown Bears in this meet; Chris Burke (Dexter, MI) took 19th place in 25:15 and Eamon Quick (Phoenix, AZ) captured 22nd in 25:18. Closely following in 23rd place and rounding out the top five was Senior Erik Churchill (Phoenixville, PA) with a finishing time of 25:21.

The Brown men's team continues action on September 27 at the Iona Meet of Champions at Van Cortlandt Park in New York City.

Team Scores:
1. Providence College- 29
2. Brown University- 74
3. Boston College- 106
4. University of New Hampshire- 122
5. Iona College- 123
6. University at Albany- 153
7. Bentley College- 179
8. Central Connecticut- 238

Top Five Finishers:
1. Pat Moulton, Providence College, 24:19
2. Dylan Wyckes, Providence College, 24:20
3. Patrick Tarpy, Brown University, 24:26
4. Pat Guidera, Providence College, 24:29
5. Byron Gartrell, Boston College, 24:35

Brown Individual Results:
3. Patrick Tarpy, 24:26
7. Matthew Emond, 24:46
19. Chris Burke, 25:15
22. Eamon Quick, 25:18
23. Erik Churchill, 25:21
27. Jordan Kinley 25:33
31. Pat Clark 25:37
40. Neil Hamel 25:50
41. Craig Fountain 25:51
52. Matt Crimmin 26:12
65. Matt Malachowski 26:44