Three Bears Named All-Ivy

Three Bears Named All-Ivy

PROVIDENCE, RI – Sophomore men's tennis players Soufiane Azargui (Burlington, Ontario) and Brandon Burke (Kingston, Jamaica), and freshman William Spector (Weston, MA) have been named All-Ivy in a vote by the League's eight head coaches. Azargui was named Second Team All-Ivy in both singles and doubles, while Spector earned Second Team honors in singles and Burke earned Second Team honors in doubles. For the second year in a row, the doubles selections were voted on as six individuals rather than three doubles teams, per legislation passed May 2010 from a proposal originated by the men's tennis coaches.

Azargui earned Second Team All-Ivy honors for the second and third time in his career after earning the honor in doubles a year ago. Azargui posted an 18-7 overall singles record this season, including a 9-5 dual mark playing #1 and #2. In doubles action, Azargui earned a 19-11 record, including a 8-7 mark at the #1 position. With Burke, Azargui was 8-5 at #1 and 14-7 overall.

The 2011 Ivy League Rookie of the Year, Burke is also earning his second straight doubles Second Team honor. For the season, he was 22-12 in doubles action, including an 8-5 record at #1 with Azargui. Burke also combined with Spector to post a 4-2 record in six dual matches, including a 3-1 mark at #2.

Spector was the Bears' most consistent performer all season, compiling a 29-6 singles record and a 25-7 mark in doubles action. Spector's 29 singles wins rank sixth all-time at Brown for singles wins in a season, while his 54 combined wins rank eighth all-time at Brown. He played mostly in the middle of the lineup, earning a 4-2 record at #2 singles, an 8-1 mark at #3, a 3-1 record at #4, and a 1-0 record at #5. In Ivy matches only, Spector was 5-2 overall, going 2-1 at #2 and 3-1 at #3. In doubles action, Spector partnered mostly with sophomore Sam Fife (Scarsdale, NY). The duo was 17-3 on the season, including an 8-1 (5-1 in Ivy League) record at #3 doubles.

First Team All-Ivy
*Winston Lin, Fr., Columbia
Haig Schneiderman, Sr., Columbia
*Jonathan Pearlman, Sr., Harvard
*Matija Pecotic, Jr., Princeton
Daniel Hoffman, Jr., Yale
*John Huang, Jr., Yale

*Ashok Narayana, Fr., Columbia
*Max Schnur, Fr., Columbia
Alistar Felton, Sr., Harvard
Casey MacMaster, So., Harvard
*Daniel Hoffman, Jr., Yale
*Marc Powers, Jr., Yale

Second Team All-Ivy

Soufiane Azargui, So., Brown
William Spector, Fr., Brown

Venkat Iyer, So., Cornell
Sam Fleck, Fr., Cornell
Denis Nguyen, Fr., Harvard
Jeremy Court, Fr., Penn

Soufiane Azargui, So., Brown
Brandon Burke, So., Brown
Alex de Chatellus, Jr., Dartmouth
Michael Laser, Sr., Dartmouth
Matt Siow, Jr., Princeton
Matt Spindler, Jr., Princeton

Player of the Year
Matija Pecotic, Jr., Princeton

Rookie of the Year
*Winston Lin, Fr., Columbia

*Unanimous Selection