Men's Swimming & Diving

Swimming and Diving Announces Class of 2013

Swimming and Diving Announces Class of 2013

Head Coach Peter Brown recently announced the addition of 18 newcomers to the swimming and diving squads, with nine women and nine men set to join the Bears in 2009-2010.  The impressive list includes two All-Americans, four members of All-State teams, and the Maine Swimmer of the Year.

On the women's side, the Bears have a number of exciting recruits set to join the team. Headlining the class is Katie Lynch (Greenwich, CT), who was a three-time All-American in the breaststroke and individual medley. Lynch was also a three-time Scholastic All-American. Joining her in the breaststroke and IM will be Kristin Jackson (Falmouth, ME), who was the 2008 and 2009 Maine Class B Female Swimmer of the Year, as well as the Portland Press Herald Girls Swimming MVP in each of those seasons. In the backstroke, the class of 2013 will be led by Bridget Sauer (Boothwyn, PA). Sauer was named to All-State teams in all four seasons, and was the 2007 state champion in the 100 back.

Rounding out the class are six athletes with terrific potential. Libby Matthews (Makawao, HI), the 2009 Seabury Hall Athlete of the Year, will compete in the breaststroke and IM. Perry Ashenfelter (Needham, MA), Parita Parekh (Ahmedabad, India), and Elizabeth Stein (Glencoe, IL) will add depth in both the butterfly and freestyle, giving the Bears more flexibility in their lineups. Meghan Earley (Orange, CT) will bolster the IM and backstroke ranks as well, while Julia Guimond (Barrington, NH)
 comes in as a very promising diving prospect.

There is plenty of promise on the men's side as well, with the nine newcomers expected to contribute immediately this season. Leading the way in the freestyle and IM will be Andrew Katz (Airmont, N.Y.), an All-American in the 200 Free last season. Katz was also a Scholastic All-American, and was named the New York State Swimming and Diving Scholar Athlete in 2009. Taylor Williams (Kannapolis, N.C.) should also be a big addition in the IM and backstroke. Williams was an All-State pick during his senior season, and was also a Junior National Qualifier. In the distance events, the Bears should get a boost from John Hug (Weatogue, CT), who was the Northwest Catholic MVP last season.

The rest of the incoming class features Tyler Benster (Mercer Island, WA), Mike Johnson (Cave Creek, AZ), and Robert Norton (Newton Square, PA) in the butterfly and freestyle. Kyle Dent (Odessa, FL) will join the diving squad, while Michael McVicker (Larchmont, N.Y.) and Ian Slater (Luthersville, MD) will compete in the backstroke, IM, and breaststroke.