Men's Soccer Captures adidas-Brown Classic Title With 4-3 Win Over Wisconsin-Madison

Men's Soccer Captures adidas-Brown Classic Title With 4-3 Win Over Wisconsin-Madison

Sept. 14, 2003

Providence, RI - The Brown men's soccer team captured the 2003 adidas-Brown Classic Title with a 4-3 win over Wisconsin-Madison in the second round of the tournament on Sunday Sept. 14 at Stevenson Field. Brown scored the game-winning goal with just 19 seconds left to play. The Bears went a perfect 2-0 at the tourney, posting a 2-1 win against #19 Stanford on Friday. Senior Adom Crew (Columbia, MD) was named the Classic's Offensive MVP after scoring two goals in the win today and adding an assist on Friday.

"It's nice to come out as the champion of our tournament this weekend and we're thankful to adidas and to all the teams that came out and participated this weekend," said Bears' Head Coach Mike Noonan.

The Bears took a quick 1-0 advantage in the first half when senior Matt Goldman (Knoxville, TN) recorded his first collegiate goal. Goldman dribbled down the far-side of the field and knocked in a hard shot past Badger goalie Eric Hanson.

Wisconsin knotted the game 1-1 less than five minutes later when junior Jed Hohlbein scored his first of three goals on the day off a deflection in the near corner of the box. Junior Noah Goerlitz earned the assist on the play.

The Badgers took a 2-1 edge at the 14:11 mark when Hohlbein struck again for his second goal. Hohlbein booted in a loose ball in front of the net. Junior David Martinez recorded the assist.

Brown retied the game late in the first half when junior Jeff Larentowicz (West Chester, PA) headed in a corner kick taken by junior Marcos Romaneiro (North Brunswick, NJ). It was the second time of the weekend Romaneiro served up a perfect ball from the corner.

Three minutes into the second half, Bruno took a 3-2 lead when Crew chipped in a loose ball from center net. Freshman Ben Brackett (West Des Moines, IA) and senior Seth Quidachay-Swan (San Francisco, CA) earned the assists on the play.

Hohlbein got the Badgers right back into the game midway through the half when he scored on a breakaway to earn the hat trick. Sophomore Phil Doeh recorded the assist. With 19 seconds left in the game, the Bears scored the game-winner to lift past

Wisconsin 4-3. Crew notched his second goal of the game when he made his way past Wisconsin's defense, flipping the ball over the defender and passing off to freshman Andrew Daniels (Milwaukee, WI) on the far side corner of the box. Daniels quickly passed back to Crew, who booted in his second goal of the game.

In goal, junior Chris Gomez (Bellflower, CA) posted nine saves. Crew, Larentowicz, senior Edward Thurston (Washington, DC) and freshman Ibrahim Diane (Potomac, MD) were named to the All-Tournament Team.

"Last year we lost five or six one goal games and this year we have already won two one goal games so that to me, is a testiment to the team and the leadership of the seniors," said Noonan.

Junior Ryan Reybould and junior Andrew Dealy from Yale were named to the All-Tournament Team while junior Matt Janusz and senior Mike Wilson earned All-Tournament honors for Stanford. Hohlbein, Goerlitz and senior Watson Prather were also named to the All-Tournament Team for Wisconsin. Goerlitz was also named the Defensive MVP of the Classic.

Brown will continue action on Friday Sept. 19th when it travels to New Haven for the annual Yale Classic. The Bears will face Creighton at 5:00 p.m.

Scoring: B, Goldman (unassisted) 4:48; W, Hohlbein (Goerlitz) 10:42; W, Hohlbein (Martinez) 14:11; B, Larentowicz (Romaneiro) 39:57; B, Crew (Brackett, Quidachay-Swan) 48:20; W, Hohlbein (Doeh) 67:15; Crew (Daniels) 89:41.
Shots: B-20; W-21
Saves: B-Gomez-9; W-Hanson-8
Corner Kicks: B-3; W-1
Fouls: B-13; W-13
Offsides: B-3; W-2

Tournament Offensive MVP:
Adom Crew-Brown

Tournament Defensive MVP: Noah Goerlitz

All-Tournament Team:
Ryan Raybould-Yale
Andrew Dealy-Yale
Matt Janusz-Stanford
Mike Wilson-Stanford
Jed Hohlbein-Wisconsin
Noah Goerlitz-Wisconsin
Watson Prather-Wisconsin
Edward Thurston-Brown
Jeff Larentowicz-Brown
Adom Crew-Brown
Ibrahim Diane-Brown