Incoming Freshman Carson Atherley Named Gatorade Maine Player of the Year

Incoming Freshman Carson Atherley Named Gatorade Maine Player of the Year

Atherley's Gatorade Profile Page

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – Carson Atherley, an incoming freshman on the Brown University men's soccer team, was recently named the 2016-17 Gatorade Maine Boys Soccer Player of the Year.

The award recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field. A product of Bangor High School, Atherley is now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Boys Soccer Player of the Year award to be announced in June.

The 6-foot, 165-pound senior midfielder scored 18 goals and passed for seven assists this past season, leading the Rams (16-1-1) to the Class A state championship. An All-American selection by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America, Atherley is a four-time All-State honoree. He was also named the Class A Player of the Year and the Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference Player of the Year. 

A devoted member of his church youth group and the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Atherley has served as a tutor in his school and has volunteered locally on behalf of youth soccer programs. Atherley has maintained a 3.88 GPA in the classroom.

As a Gatorade Player of the Year, Atherley will be able to select a national or local youth sports organization to receive a $1,000 grant as part of the Gatorade Play It Forward program.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by the Gatorade Player of the Year Selection Committee, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.