Brown Places Four on All-Ivy Men’s Soccer Team

Brown Places Four on All-Ivy Men’s Soccer Team

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – Four members of the Brown University men's soccer team earned All-Ivy honors in a vote by the Ivy League's eight head coaches, announced by the league office Wednesday afternoon.

Sophomore midfielder Tariq Akeel (Rochester Hills, Mich.) received First Team All-Ivy recognition, while junior midfielder Daniel Taylor (Greenwich, Conn.) was named to the Second Team. Additionally, senior keeper Josh Weiner (Armonk, N.Y.) and junior defender Alex Markes (Valencia, Calif.) were both named Honorable Mention All-Ivy.

Akeel enjoyed a breakout season for the Bears and earned All-Ivy honors for the first time in his career. The sophomore paced the Bears with 15 points on a team-high six goals to go along with three assists, including a pair of game-winning tallies. Akeel started all 17 games played this season and was named Co-MVP of the Ocean State Classic after leading the Bears to a share of the 2013 Ocean State title.

Taylor, a first-time All-Ivy honoree, started all 16 games played for the Bears this season. He was tied for third on the team in points, notching three goals and five helpers. Taylor was named the Ivy League Player of the Week on Nov. 4 after scoring in the 105th minute against Penn to lead the Bears to a 2-1 overtime victory. 

Markes, who earned All-Ivy recognition for the first time in his career, appeared in 13 contests and helped lead a backline that ranked third in the league in goals allowed this season.

Weiner started 15 games in net for the Bears and earned seven wins as the team's primary goalkeeper, posting a 1.21 goals-against-average, and ranked first in the Ivy League with 77 total saves. He also earned three shutouts against Bryant, Marist and Cornell, highlighted by a career-high nine-save performance in a pivotal 1-0 victory against the Big Red.

2013 Men's Soccer All-Ivy

Offensive Player of the Year: Duke Lacroix, Penn (Jr., F – New Egypt, N.J.)
Defensive Player of the Year: Patrick Slogic, Cornell (Sr., D – Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Rookie of the Year: Andrew Tinari, Columbia (Fr., M – Holbrook, N.Y.) 

First Team ^
Duke Lacroix, Penn (Jr., F – New Egypt, N.J.) *
Cameron Porter, Princeton (Jr., F – Centerville, Ohio) *
Thomas Sanner, Princeton (So., F – Indianapolis) 

Tariq Akeel, Brown (So.,  M – Rochester Hills, Mich.)
David Najem, Columbia (Sr., M – Clifton, N.J.)
Myles McGinley, Princeton (Jr., M – Oakton, Va.)
Andrew Tinari, Columbia  (Fr., M – Holbrook, N.Y.)
Colin Heffron, Dartmouth (Jr., M – Upper Brookville, N.Y.)
Louis Schott, Penn (Jr., M – Medina, Wash.) 

Patrick Slogic, Cornell (Sr., D – Colorado Springs, Colo.) *
Colin Skelly, Dartmouth (Sr., D – Wrightstown, Pa.)
Nick Alers, Yale (Sr., D – San Jose, Costa Rica)
Jonny Dolezal, Penn (Sr., D – Wynnewood, Pa.)
Josh Miller, Princeton (So., D – Portland, Ore.) 

Evan Mendez, Harvard (So., GK – Ballston Spa, N.Y.) 

Second Team
William Stamatis, Columbia (Sr., F – Mountainside, N.J.)
Cameron Kirdzik, Yale (Fr., F – Flemington, N.J.)
Alec Neumann, Penn (Fr., F – New Hope, Pa.) 

Kevin Harrington, Harvard (Sr., M – Pittsford, N.Y.)
Ross Friedman, Harvard (Sr., D – Bexley, Ohio)
Henos Musie, Yale (So., M – Gothenburg, Sweden)
Daniel Taylor, Brown (Jr., M – Greenwich, Conn.)

Mark Ashby, Harvard (So., D – Denton, Texas)
Billy McGuinness, Princeton (Sr., D – LaGrange Park, Ill.)
Jake Rinow, Cornell (Sr., D – Lancaster, N.Y.) 

Kyle Jackson, Columbia (So., GK – Paradise Valley, Ariz.) 

Honorable Mention

Ben Williams, Cornell (Sr., M – Noblesville, Ind.)
Brian Costa, Princeton (Fr., M – Warren, N.J.)
Matt Poplawski, Penn (Fr., M – Bellevue, Wash.)
Max McKiernan, Yale (Sr., M – Louisville, Ky.) 

Alex Markes, Brown (Jr., D – Valenica, Calif.)
Peter Chodas, Cornell (Jr., D – LaCanada, Calif.)
Austin Kinn, Penn (Sr., D – Sacramento, Calif.)
Phillip Piper, Yale  (So., D – The Woodlands, Texas)

Josh Weiner, Brown (Sr., GK – Armonk, N.Y.)
Zach Zagorski, Cornell (Jr., GK – Westfield, N.J.)
Tyler Kinn, Penn (Sr., D – Sacramento, Calif.) 

^there are 15 players on the first team due to ties in the voting

*unanimous selections