Seven Bears Earn All-Ivy Men’s Soccer Honors

Seven Bears Earn All-Ivy Men’s Soccer Honors

Providence, RI- Seven members of the Brown University men’s soccer team received honors from the Ivy League. Goalkeeper Paul Grandstrand (Orono, MN), midfielder Nick Elenz-Martin (Encinitas, CA) and midfielder Sean Rosa (Montreal, Quebec) earned First Team All-Ivy honors, while defender Evan Coleman (Amherst, MA), defender David Walls (Leeds, England), and midfielders Thomas McNamara (West Nyack, NJ) and Rob Medairos (Stafford, VA) received Honorable Mention All-Ivy honors.

Grandstrand, the 2007 Rookie of the Year, has started 16 games for the Bears and has a 0.77 goals against average with 45 saves. Grandstrand boasts a 9-2-5 record and has shutout four opponents this season.

Elenz-Martin earned his second first-team selection after spending 2008 on the second team. A strong presence in Brown’s midfield, the senior has become the leader of a very intriguing offensive attack that is effective at spreading goal output throughout the squad. He is tied for the team lead with five goals, including two pivotal game winners.

Rosa earns his first All-Ivy accolade after a year that saw the sophomore score four goals and tally an additional six assists. His offensive statistics tied from for the team lead with Elenz-Martin. Rosa was also named the adidas-Brown Soccer Classic’s Offensive MVP after helping Brown to victories over Adelphi and SMU.

Coleman has been a solid force for Brown’s back line, as he was named the Defensive MVP of the adidas-Brown Soccer Classic. He has played and started in all 17 games and has scored one goal and handed out one assist this season. Walls, a team captain this year, has started and played in 16 contests and has two goals and two assists.

Thomas McNamara has been a huge spark for Brown soccer, as the freshman has started in 14 of 16 games. He has scored five goals for Bruno, all of which have been game-winners. Medairos, has started in 13 of 15 games for the Bears and has played an integral role on the NCAA Tournament bound team.