Ivy League To Begin Lacrosse Tournaments In 2010

Ivy League To Begin Lacrosse Tournaments In 2010

Jan. 15, 2009

Princeton, New Jersey - Ivy League Executive Director Jeff Orleans announced today that the Ivy League will begin four-team tournaments in spring 2010 to determine the Ivy League's automatic qualifying institutions to the NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Lacrosse Championships. The winners of the Ivy League championship will continue to be determined by results of the League's round-robin competitions.

The Brown and the Cornell men shared the Ivy League Championship in 2008 with the Bears posting an 11-3 overall record, and each posting identical 5-1 league records.

The Ivy League is one of the nation's preeminent collegiate lacrosse conferences, with all eight schools sponsoring women's lacrosse and seven schools sponsoring men's lacrosse. Three Ivy schools - Cornell, Harvard and Princeton -- have won a total of nine men's and four women's NCAA championships. Princeton pulled off the impressive double in 1994 sweeping both men's and women's Division I championships in the same year.

The Brown men's lacrosse team has made 11 NCAA Playoff appearances, played in nine NCAA Quarterfinal games, and earned a berth in the 1994 NCAA Semifinals.

"We are delighted to have this opportunity to showcase our very strong men's and women's lacrosse teams," said Orleans. "And we're also pleased that we can avoid deciding our automatic bid recipient through a tiebreaker formula if we have regular-season ties, as often has been the case."

Each tournament will include the top four teams in Ivy League regular season round-robin competition and will be hosted by the round-robin winner. The men's tournament will be the season's last weekend (Friday-Sunday, May 7-9, 2010) and the women's tournament will be the preceding weekend (April 30-May 2).