Bears Announce 2008 Team Awards

Bears Announce 2008 Team Awards

July 31, 2008

The Brown men's ice hockey team held its annual season-ending banquet on Wednesday, April 30, and five different individuals were honored with team awards. The banquet, sponsored by the Brown Hockey Association, was held at Ledgemont Country Club in Seekonk, MA.

The Class of 1936 Hockey Trophy, Brown's MVP for the 2007-2008 season, was awarded to senior captain Sean Hurley (Rutland, VT) for the second straight year. A Second Team All-ECAC Hockey and First Team All-Ivy selection, Hurley was the Bears' top defenseman, while also finishing third on the team in scoring with 19 points (3g, 16a), scoring all three of his goals on the power play. He finished the season ranked 12th in the ECAC with 12 assists against League opponents and fifth in scoring among defensemen with 14 points in League games. In 126 career games, third all-time at Brown, Hurley appears in every single career offensive category for defensemen, ranking seventh with 79 career points, seventh with 22 goals, and sixth with 57 assists. His 57 career assists is also 22nd all-time (overall) at Brown.

Senior assistant captain David Robertson (Saunderstown, RI) was awarded the Charles A. Robinson, Jr. Memorial Trophy for Academic Excellence, awarded annually to the letterman who has attained the highest degree of academic excellence over the first seven semesters. A nominee for the ECAC's Student-Athlete of the Year Award, Robertson held a 3.75 GPA after seven semesters, concentrating in International Relations. One of the Bears' top defensemen, Robertson played in 29 games this season and pitched in 11 points (2g, 9a). For his career, Robertson played in 120 games, ninth all-time at Brown, and earned 41 points (10g, 31a). Robertson was a three-time ECAC All-Academic Team selection and was also named Academic All-Ivy this past year. Off the ice, he was a four-year member of SAAC and a Peer Academic Advisor for the hockey team.

Senior assistant captain Jeff Prough (Farmington Hills, MI) won the Patrick S. Jones Memorial Award (Coaches' Award), which is given to that member of the team who best represented the team throughout the season by his commitment, attitude, and leadership. Prough helped to lead the team by his leadership and character both on and off the ice for the post four years. The Bears' leading scorer for the third straight year, Prough finished his senior season with 26 points (7g, 19a), playing in all 31 games. In 127 career games, tied for first all-time at Brown, Prough amassed 109 points (49g, 60a), the most since Brian Jardine '96 finished his career with 105 points in 1996. For his career, Prough ranks 16th all-time with 109 points, 19th all-time with 60 career assists, and first all-time with 123 consecutive games played.

Senior Paul Baier (North Kingstown, RI) was this year's recipient of the Charles A. Lanigan Memorial Trophy (BHA Award), given the player who best represents the hockey program both on and off the ice. Baier has consistently been a leader for the Bears' defense, playing in all 31 games this season and earning seven points (2g, 5a). A three-time ECAC All-Academic selection, Baier played in 125 career games, fourth all-time at Brown, and posted 28 points (5g, 23a).

Freshman forward David Brownschidle (Lawrenceville, NJ) was selected as the Kevin R. Pope Memorial Trophy winner, given to the first year player who, in the eyes of his teammates, contributed most to the success of the team. Brownschidle was one eight members of the team to play in all 31 games last season. He led all Brown rookies with six points last year (4g, 2a), including the game-winning goal at Dartmouth and a short-handed goal against Quinnipiac.