Vokes Receives New England Hockey Writers Joe Tomasello Award

Vokes Receives New England Hockey Writers Joe Tomasello Award

April 3, 2009

PROVIDENCE, RI - Brown senior assistant captain Matt Vokes (Auburn, MA) has been named the 2009 recipient of the Joe Tomasello Award. Presented annually by the New England Hockey Writers Association, the award goes to the Unsung Hero in New England. The leading scorer on the team with 28 points (11g, 17a), Vokes was also named Second Team All-Ivy and Academic All-Ivy. He will be recognized, along with all the other award recipients, at the New England Hockey Writers Banquet on April 13th.

An assistant captain for the Bears, Vokes was Brown's most consistent offensive threat all season long, posting at least one point in 18 of the Bears' 31 games. Vokes, who had 36 career points entering the season, had a career-high 28 points this season, while leading the Bears in goals (11), assists (17), and power-play goals (6). The top-line center for the majority of the season, Vokes was also one of the top three faceoff men on the team, winning 237 faceoffs, second on the team, and posting a .490 winning percentage, second on the team among regular centers. All season, Vokes has been among the top scorers in the ECAC in several categories. He finished the year ranked 19th in points, 18th in assists, third in power-play points (6g, 13a), and sixth in power-play goals. In ECAC Hockey games only, Vokes was seventh in points (22), fourth in goals (10), 13th in assists (12), second in power-play points (14), and first in power-play goals (5).

Off the ice, in addition to serving as an assistant captain this past season, Vokes is also involved in the greater Brown community. He has been a TA for Engineering 9 and 90 since 2006-2007, serving as the Head TA for both classes this year. A member of SAAC since 2006-2007, Vokes is the Co-Chair of the Faculty Liaison Committee this year. He has also been a member of the Brown Investment Group since 2006-2007 and has been a Peer Counselor since 2007.

2008-2009 New England Division I All-Stars
Kieran Millan, Boston University
Brad Thiessen, Northeastern
Alex Biega, Harvard
Maury Edwards, UMass-Lowell
Matt Gilroy, Boston University
Kevin Shattenkirk, Boston University
Mark Arcobello, Yale
Brock Bradford, Boston College
James Marcou, UMass
Victor Stalberg, Vermont
Colin Wilson, Boston University
James van Riemsdyk, New Hampshire

2008-2009 New England Hockey Awards
Clark Hodder Award - Division I Coach of the Year
Greg Cronin, Northeastern
Leonard Fowle Award - Most Valuable Player
Brad Thiessen, Northeastern
George C. Carens Award - Rookie of the Year
Kieran Millan, Boston University
Herb Gallagher Award - Best Forward
Colin Wilson, Boston University
Bob Monahan Award - Best Defenseman
Matt Gilroy, Boston University
Paul Hines Award - Most Improved Player
Viktor Stalberg, Vermont
Frank Jones Award - Best Defensive Forward
Joe Vitale, Northeastern
Joe Tomasello Award - Unsung Hero
Matt Vokes, Brown
Parker/York Award - Contribution to New England Hockey
John Dunham, Trinity