Buvinow Named ECAC All-Rookie

Buvinow Named ECAC All-Rookie

March 17, 2009

PROVIDENCE, RI - Brown freshman Jeff Buvinow (Turnersville, NJ) has been named to the 2009 All-ECAC Rookie team in a vote by the 12 ECAC men's hockey coaches. The Bears' second leading scorer, Buvinow was also named Second Team All-Ivy.

Buvinow had a very impressive regular-season, finishing second on the team in scoring with 17 points (3g, 14a), while plaing in all 33 games. Part of Brown's top defensive pairing, Buvinow also ran the point for the Bears' top power-play unit. For the season, Buvinow was 11th overall in the ECAC with 13 power-play points (2g, 11a), 10th overall in scoring among defensemen, and seventh in rookie scoring. In League games only, Buvinow ranked 13th with 12 assists, sixth with 11 power-play points (2g, 9a), fourth in scoring among defensemen (3g, 12a), and fourth in rookie scoring. He finished the season ranked third all-time at Brown for points in a season by a rookie defenseman, third all-time at Brown for assists in a season by a rookie defenseman, and fourth all-time at Brown for goals in a season by a rookie defenseman.

First Team All-ECAC
G - Zane Kalemba, Princeton
D - Lane Caffaro, Union
D - Zach Miskovic, St. Lawrence
F - Mark Arcobello, Yale
F - Riley Nash, Cornell
F - David McIntyre, Colgate

Second Team All-ECAC
G - Ben Scrivens, Cornell
D - Tom Dignard, Yale
D - Brendon Nash, Cornell
F - Sean Backman, Yale
F - Bryan Leitch, Quinnipiac
F - Colin Greening, Cornell

Third Team All-ECAC
G - Alec Richards, Yale
D - Alex Biega, Harvard
D - Jody Pederson, Princeton
F - Brock McBride, St. Lawrence
F - Broc Little, Yale
F - Adam Presizniuk, Union

All-Rookie Team
G - Jody O'Neill, Dartmouth
D - Jeff Buvinow, Brown
D - Keir Ross, Cornell
F - Patrick Cullen, Rensselaer
F - Doug Jones, Dartmouth
F - Brian O'Neill, Yale

Player of the Year
Zane Kalemba, Princeton

Goaltender of the Year
Zane Kalemba, Princeton

Rookie of the Year
Jody O'Neil, Dartmouth

Best Defensive Forward
Tyler Mugford, Cornell

Best Defensive Defenseman
Matt Generous, St. Lawrence

Coach of the Year
Keith Allain, Yale

Turfer Athletic Trophy