Bears Announce 2004 Team Awards and 2004-2005 Captain

Bears Announce 2004 Team Awards and 2004-2005 Captain

May 11, 2004

The Brown men's ice hockey team held its annual season-ending banquet on Friday, April 16, and four different individuals were honored with team awards. The banquet, sponsored by the Brown Hockey Association, was held at the Wannamoisett Country Club in Rumford, RI.

Senior Pascal Denis (Magog, QUE) was awarded the Charles A. Robinson, Jr. Memorial Trophy for Academic Excellence. The trophy is awarded annually to the letterman who has attained the highest degree of academic excellence over the first seven semesters. A forward, Denis is a Business Economics/Public and Private Sector Organizations major and has earned ECAC All-Academic honors in 2002, 2003, and 2004. Denis was also awarded the Charles A. Lanigan Memorial Trophy (BHA Award). This award is given the player who best represents the hockey program both on and off the ice. Denis finished this season with six points (1g, 5a), while playing in all 31 games for the Bears. One of the top penalty killers on the Brown squad, Denis finished his career with 121 games, tying the school record for games played, and 31 points (14g, 17a).

Freshman forward Brian Ihnacak (Toronto, ONT) was selected as the Kevin R. Pope Memorial Trophy winner, given to the first year player who, in the eyes of his teammates, contributed most to the success of the team. The Ivy League and ECAC Rookie of the Year, Ihnacak finished his rookie season with 30 points (10g, 20a), while playing in all 31 games. Brown's first freshman to record at least 30 points in his rookie season since 1976, Ihnacak finished sixth in the league (ECAC games only) with 25 points, third with 17 assists, first with 21 power play points, fifth in power-play goals, and first in rookie scoring with 25 points.

The Patrick S. Jones Memorial Award (Coaches' Award), which is given to that member of the team who generates the most spark and enthusiasm in building team spirit, was presented to senior captain Scott Ford (Fort St. John, BC). A natural leader, the defenseman finished the season as the fourth-leading scorer with 15 points (6g, 9a), while helping to lead Brown to their first Ivy League Championship since 1995. A First Team All-Ivy selection and the ECAC's Defensive Defenseman of the Year, Ford helped to anchor Brown's blueline. He finishes his Brown career with 47 points (15g, 32a) in 118 games.

The Class of 1936 Hockey Trophy, Brown's MVP for the 2003-2004 season, was awarded to senior goalie Yann Danis (Saint Jerome, QUE), who is the first player in Brown hockey history to earn this accolade three times. One of the top goalies in the country, Danis also became Brown's first ever Hobey Baker Award Finalist, finishing in the Hobey Hat Trick. The 2004 ECAC and Ivy League Player of the Year, Danis was also the recipient of the ECAC's Ken Dryden Award (Goalie of the Year). Among other awards, Danis was also honored as a First Team All-American, the INCH.Com Goalie of the Year, the USCHO Defensive Player of the Year, and the New England Hockey Writers Association Most Valuable Player in New England. Now playing with the Hamilton Bulldogs, the AHL affiliate of the Montreal Canadiens, Danis has etched his name in the Brown record book. He shattered Brown career records for shutouts (13), goals against average (2.20), and save percentage (.930), breaking his own marks (set in 2002) for save percentage in a season (.942) and goals against average in a season (1.81). He also holds Brown records for single season saves (1,043), set in 2003, and single season shutouts (5), set in 2003 and accomplished again this season. In addition, Danis tied the Brown record for career wins, earning 43 victories with the Bears.

Lastly, junior Les Haggett (Norwood, NY), who served as an Assistant Captain this year, will serve as the Captain for the upcoming season. A top scorer for the past two seasons, Haggett finished third on the team this year with 29 points (5g, 24a), while leading the Bears with 24 assists, fourth in the ECAC. A Second Team All-Ivy selection, Haggett ranked second in the ECAC with 21 power-play points. With 75 points (24g, 51a), Haggett could become Brown's first 100-point scorer since Ryan Mulhern '96 and Brian Jardine '96 in 1996.

Brown finished the 2003-2004 season with a 15-11-5 record, winning its first Ivy League Championship since 1995. 19 letterwinners return to next year's squad, Brown's 80th season of collegiate ice hockey.