Robertson Named Men’s Hockey Finalist for Senior CLASS Award

Robertson Named Men’s Hockey Finalist for Senior CLASS Award

Vote Daily | Robertson Profile Page

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – Brown defenseman Dennis Robertson (Fort St. John, British Columbia) was selected as one of 10 finalists for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award for men's hockey, announced Wednesday afternoon. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

A two-time team captain, Robertson has proven to be an exceptional all-around player and leader for the Bears throughout his career. Robertson, an All-Ivy First Team selection last season, ranks fourth on the team and first among defensemen with 17 points on six goals and 11 assists. He leads the team with five power-play goals and 46 blocked shots. Robertson notched his 50th career assist earlier this season to become the 38th member of the 50-assist club in program history. In 122 career games, the Carolina Hurricanes prospect and two-time ECAC All-Academic honoree has earned 70 points (17g, 53a).

Robertson is one of six finalists from the ECAC, including Greg Carey (St. Lawrence), Brock Higgs (Rensselaer), Cole Ikkala (Union), Andy Iles (Cornell) and Matt Zarbo (Clarkson).

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of 20 candidates announced in November. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website through March 31. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches' votes to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2014 NCAA Men's Frozen Final Four® in April. For more information on all the finalists, visit

2014 Men's Hockey Finalists
Sam Brittain, Denver
Cole Ikkala, Union
Greg Carey, St. Lawrence
Andy Iles, Cornell
Scott Czarnowczan, Ferris State
Denis Robertson, Brown
Kyle Gibbons, Canisius
Ryan Walters, Nebraska-Omaha
Brock Higgs, Rensselaer
Matt Zarbo, Clarkson