Robertson Named Men’s Hockey Candidate for Senior CLASS Award

Robertson Named Men’s Hockey Candidate for Senior CLASS Award

Senior CLASS Hockey Page

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – Senior Dennis Robertson (Fort St. John, BC) of the Brown men's hockey team has been named a candidate for the Senior CLASS Award, which is presented each year to the outstanding senior NCAA Division I Student-Athlete of the Year across ten different sports.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

A two-time team captain, Robertson has proven to be an exceptional all-around player and leader for the Bears throughout his career. Robertson, an All-Ivy First Team selection last season, finished tied for fourth on the team with 20 points (3g, 17a) and led the team with 17 assists. He was also +9 during the season, third on the team, and led the Bears with 65 blocked shots. Equally effective on both ends of the ice, Robertson was also a big part of the Bears' special teams, playing on both the top power play and penalty kill. In 102 career games, the Toronto Maple Leafs draftee and two-time ECAC All-Academic honoree has earned 56 points (12g, 44a).

Of the 20 candidates, 12 have grade point averages of 3.5 or higher. There are two American Hockey Coaches Association All-Americans from last season.

The 20 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2014 NCAA Men's Frozen Final Four® in April. 

Hockey Candidates

Mac Bennett, Michigan                     Cole Ikkala, Union (N.Y.)

Jack Berger, Princeton                     Andy Iles, Cornell

Sam Brittain, Denver                 Stephen Johns, Notre Dame

Greg Carey, St. Lawrence                 Nick Jones, Mercyhurst

Scott Czarnowczan, Ferris State       Dennis Robertson, Brown

Nic Dowd, St. Cloud State                 Kevin Ryan, Niagara

Kyle Gibbons, Canisius                     Steven Shamanski, Providence

Kevin Goumas, New Hampshire      Dillon Simpson, North Dakota

Jordan Heywood, Merrimack           Ryan Walters, Nebraska-Omaha

Brock Higgs, Rensselaer                    Matt Zarbo, Clarkson


For more information on all the candidates, visit