League-Leading 24 Bears Named to ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team

League-Leading 24 Bears Named to ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team

ALBANY, NY - For the fifth year in a row, the Brown men's ice hockey team led ECAC Hockey with All-Academic selections, as 24 Bears were among 208 student-athletes to earn the honor. Yale shared the lead with Brown this year, while Rensselaer had 22 student athletes selected. Harvard followed with 18, while Dartmouth and Union both had 17 student-athletes earn the honor. Players are eligible for the All-Academic team if they earn a cumulative grade point average of at least a 3.00 on a 4.00 scale or have a GPA over 3.00 over the past three semesters. Freshmen were eligible for the team for the first time in 2006-2007 and remain eligible for the team.

Seniors Mike Clemente (Great Falls, VA), Bobby Farnham (North Andover, MA), Jack Maclellan (Calgary, ALB), Jarred Smith (Pepper Pike, OH), and Mike Wolff (Walpole, MA) earned the honor for the fourth consecutive year, joining 27 other student-athletes from the League who were recognized four times. Senior Jeff Buvinow (Turnersville, NJ) and juniors Richie Crowley (Canton, MA), Marc Senecal (North Bay, ONT), and Chris Zaires (Aberdeen, NJ) are among 34 student-athletes who have been named to the team at least three times.

In addition to the juniors already mentioned, classmates Anthony Borelli (Grand Island, NY) and Francis Drolet (Lachine, QUE) have also been named to the team, earning the honor for the second time in their careers. Other two-time honorees include sophomores Mike Borge (Somerset, MA), Garnet Hathaway (Kennebunkport, ME), Mark Hourihan (Lynnfield, MA), Michael Juola (Lake Forest, CA), Dennis Robertson (Fort St. John, BC), and Jimmy Siers (Mt. Prospect, IL).

Seven of Brown's nine freshmen were also recognized: Joey de Concilys (St. Catharine's, ONT), Chris Draper (Calgary, ALB), Matt Harlow (Bridgewater, MA), Ryan Jacobson (Greenwood Village, CO), Massimo Lamacchia (Maple, ONT), Matt Lorito (Oakville, ONT), and Kyle Quick (Buffalo, NY).

2012 Brown ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team Selections
Anthony Borelli, Jr., Economics^
Mike Borge, So., History*
Jeff Buvinow, Sr., Economics*^
Mike Clemente, Sr., Economics*^&
Richie Crowley, Jr., Political Science & Economics*^
Joey de Concilys, Fr., Undeclared
Chris Draper, Fr., Undeclared
Francis Drolet, Jr., Economics^
Bobby Farnham, Sr., Commerce, Organizations & Entrepreneurship*^&
Matt Harlow, Fr., Undeclard
Garnet Hathaway, So., Business, Entrepreneurship & Organizations*
Mark Hourihan, So., Business, Entrepreneurship & Organizations*
Ryan Jacobson, Fr., Undeclard
Michael Juola, So., Political Science*
Massimo Lamacchia, Fr., Undeclared
Matt Lorito, Fr., Undeclared
Jack Maclellan, Sr., Economics*^&
Kyle Quick, Fr., Undeclared
Dennis Robertson, So., Engineering*
Marc Senecal, Jr., Human Biology*^
Jimmy Siers, So., Business, Entrepreneurship & Organizations*
Jarred Smith, Sr., Commerce, Organizations & Entrepreneurship*^&
Mike Wolff, Sr., Commerce, Organizations & Entrepreneurship*^&
Chris Zaires, Jr., Economics*^

* 2010-2011 selection
^ 2009-2010 selection
& 2008-2009 selection

Pictured: Jarred Smith '12. Photo by DSPics.net.