League-leading 23 Bears Named to ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team

League-leading 23 Bears Named to ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team

ALBANY, NY - For the fourth year in a row, the Brown men's ice hockey team led ECAC Hockey with All-Academic selections, as 23 Bears were among 189 student-athletes to earn the honor. Quinnipiac shared the lead with Brown this year, while Rensselaer had 22 student athletes selected. Dartmouth, Union and Yale all followed with 16 honorees each. Players are eligible for the All-Academic team if they earn a cumulative grade point average of at least a 3.00 on a 4.00 scale or have a GPA over 3.00 over the past three semesters. Freshmen were eligible for the team for the first time in 2006-2007 and remain eligible for the team.

Seniors David Brownschidle (Lawrenceville, NJ), Jesse Fratkin (Burnaby, BC), and Jeremy Russell (St. Albert, ALB) earned the honor for the fourth consecutive year, while senior Harry Zolnierczyk (Toronto, ONT), and juniors Mike Clemente (Great Falls, VA), Bobby Farnham (North Andover, MA), Jack Maclellan (Calgary, ALB), Jarred Smith (Pepper Pike, OH), and Mike Wolff (Walpole, MA) join him and are among 71 student-athletes who have been named to the team at least three times.

In addition to the juniors already mentioned, classmate Jeff Buvinow (Turnersville, NJ) has also been named to the team, earning the honor for the second straight year. Other two-time honorees include sophomores Richie Crowley (Canton, MA), Jeff Ryan (Media, PA), Marc Senecal (North Bay, ONT), Trevor Smyth (Calgary, ALB), and Chris Zaires (Aberdeen, NJ).

Eight of Brown's 10 freshman were also recognized: Mike Borge (Somerset, MA), Jake Goldberg (Langhorne, PA), Garnet Hathaway (Kennebunkport, ME), Mark Hourihan (Lynnfield, MA), Michael Juola (Lake Forest, CA), Dennis Robertson (Fort St. John, BC), Jimmy Siers (Mt. Prospect, IL), and Matt Wahl (Wellington, FL).

2011 Brown ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team Selections
Mike Borge, Fr., Undeclared
David Brownschidle, Sr., Economics*^&
Jeff Buvinow, Jr., Economics*
Mike Clemente, Jr., Economics*^
Richie Crowley, So., Political Science*
Bobby Farnham, Jr., Commerce, Organizations & Entrepreneurship*^
Jesse Fratkin, Sr., Commerce, Organizations & Entrepreneurship*^&
Jake Goldberg, Fr., Undeclared
Garnet Hathaway, Fr., Undeclared
Mark Houihan, Fr., Undeclared
Michael Juola, Fr., Undeclared
Jack Maclellan, Jr., Economics*^
Dennis Robertson, Fr., Undeclared
Jeremy Russell, Sr., Economics & Neuroscience*^#
Jeff Ryan, So., Commerce, Organizations & Entrepreneurship*
Marc Senecal, So., Human Biology*
Jimmy Siers, Fr., Undeclared
Jarred Smith, Jr., Commerce, Organizations & Entrepreneurship*^
Trevor Smyth, So., Economics*
Matt Wahl, Fr., Undeclared
Mike Wolff, Jr., Commerce, Organizations & Entrepreneurship*^
Chris Zaires, So., Economics*
Harry Zolnierczyk, Sr., Economics*^

* 2009-2010 selection
^ 2008-2009 selection
& 2007-2008 selection
# 2006-2007 selection

Pictured: Jesse Fratkin '11 was one of Brown's three four-time ECAC Hockey All-Academic honorees. Photo by DSPics.net.