Nick Hartigan Named To Official "Payton Watch"

Nick Hartigan Named To Official

Aug. 25, 2005

Providence, RI - Brown University All-American senior runningback Nick Hartigan (Fairfax Station, VA) has been named to the official "Payton Watch", recognizing the outstanding players in NCAA I-AA football. A total of 16 of the nation's top players have been chosen by The Sports Network, I-AA, college football's most widely recognized information service, as official "Payton Watch" members. The "Payton Watch" page, which can be found at The Sports Network's website ( keeps track of the quest for the 19th Walter Payton Award, presented annually to the top player in I-AA football. The Payton Award will be presented at the 19th annual I-AA College Football Awards Dinner on Thursday, December 15th, 2005.

Hartigan established new Brown records for points (102) and touchdowns (17) in a season a year ago, and needs just over 500 yards to become Brown's all-time career rushing leader. His 2,761 career rushing yards are 15th best in the Ivy League record book and third in Brown football history. In 2004, Hartigan set a new school record for carries in a season (323), second most in Ivy League history.

An exemplary student-athlete, Hartigan is also a First Team CoSIDA Academic All-American, posting a 3.91 GPA in Political Science and History.

The 6-2, 220 Hartigan ran for a school record 1,498 yards in 2003, and is one of only three Brown players to rush for 1,000 or more yards in a season. A two-time first team All-Ivy and All-New England selection, Hartigan rushed for 1,263 yards in 2004, the second best rushing performance in Brown history, running for 100 or more yards six times, including a season high 179 yards and four touchdowns against Columbia.

"Payton Watch" Candidates

Jermaine Austin, RB, Georgia Southern

David Ball, WR, New Hampshire

Steve Baylark, RB, Massachusetts

Clifton Dawson, RB, Harvard

Bruce Eugene, QB, Grambling State

Terrance Freeney, RB, UNI

Travis Glasford, RB, Western Illinois

Nick Hartigan, RB, Brown

Lex Hilliard, RB, Montana

Eric Kimble, WR, Eastern Washington

Travis Lulay, QB, Montana State

Ingle Martin, QB, Furman

Erik Meyer, QB, Eastern Washington

Joel Sambursky, QB, Southern Illinois

Ricky Santos, QB, New Hampshire

Richie Williams, QB, Appalachian State