Will Burroughs '05 Named NCAA National Sportsmanship Award Winner

Will Burroughs '05 Named NCAA National Sportsmanship Award Winner

Aug. 9, 2005

Indianapolis, IN- - The NCAA announced the 2005 National Sportsmanship Award winners and recent Brown University graduate Will Burroughs was the Division I male recipient. Burroughs, a tri-captain on last year's football team, also received the David Zucconi Award in May, which is awarded to the Brown male varsity athlete who most consistently displays the ideals of sportsmanship.

The NCAA Sportsmanship Award recognizes student-athletes who exemplify good sportsmanship with the highest level of respect, fairness, civility, honesty, integrity and responsibility during competition. Two student-athletes, one male and one female, from each division were selected for the award.

Burroughs was a three-year starter on the Bears' offensive line, earning All-Ivy honors as a junior and senior. Off the field, he was a four-year member of Brown's Student Athlete Advisory Committee, including two years as president. Burroughs did extensive volunteer work in the Rhode Island community, donating his time at the Vartan Gregorian Elementary School and at the Special Olympics. He also served as a volunteer coach for the Woonsocket Youth Football League.

Burrough established the "Never Quit" Foundation in honor of teammate and friend Lawrence Rubida for cancer research, raising over $2,000. A Meiklejohn Advisor, he set up and ran a study hall for freshmen football players and was selected for "Teach for America", where he will teach for two years in an underprivileged school in Phoenix, Arizona.