Brown Football Features Nation’s Best 15 Players Named To Hampshire Honor Society

Brown Football Features Nation’s Best 15 Players Named To Hampshire Honor Society

Dallas, Tx. - The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) recently announced the members of the 2012 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college career.


Brown had 15 members of its football team honored by the Hampshire Honor Society, the most among Division I colleges and universities.  Earning Hampshire Honor Society recognition from coach Phil's Estes' Brown football team are seniors Shane Cooney, Nicholas Faber, Mark Hammer, Evan Johnson, Luke Landers, Nathan Lovett, Sam McGrath, Kenny Newcomer, Kyle Newhall-Caballero, Matthew O'Donnell, Patrick Pakan, Adam Persinger, Stephen Peyton, Matthew Sudfeld, and Brett Wyman.


A total of 727 players from 233 schools qualified for membership in the society's sixth year, marking this year's class as the largest since the program's creation in 2007.


The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's current National Scholar-Athlete program greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. The program further strengthens the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the more than 700 college and universities with football programs nationwide. Jon F. Hanson, the chairman and founder of The Hampshire Companies, provided the endowment to launch the NFF Hampshire Honor Society in 2007. He made the contribution as part of his legacy to the organization after serving as NFF chairman from 1994-2006. He currently serves the organization as a chairman emeritus. Each player awarded with membership in this year's Honor Society will receive a certificate commemorating their achievement.


"Thanks to the generosity of Jon Hanson, we have honored more than 3,000 student-athletes in the last six years," said NFF Chairman Archie Manning, "The Hampshire Honor Society allows us to showcase how much football matters in building tomorrow's leaders, and we strongly encourage every football-playing school in the country to get involved." 

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include:

  • Being a starter or a significant substitute in one's last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, or an NAIA college or university;
  • Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and

Meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements and graduation.