Scott Roop Resigns As Men's Crew Coach At Brown

Aug. 2, 2001

Providence, R.I. - Scott Roop, the highly successful men's crew coach at Brown University for the last seven years, has resigned his position, effective immediately.

Roop joined the Brown coaching staff in 1992 as head freshman coach. His squads went undefeated for three seasons in intercollegiate competition and captured three consecutive IRA and Eastern Sprints titles. He also led the freshmen to win the Thames Cup championship at the prestigious English Royal Henley Regatta.

In August of 1994, Roop was named the head coach at Brown, succeeding 13-year veteran Steve Gladstone. Not missing a beat, Roop led the Bears to their third consecutive IRA and National Collegiate Rowing Championship titles. In 1997, Roop's varsity finished second at the IRA, and in 1999 the varsity was second at the Eastern Sprints.

The 2000 season was spectacular, starting with an undefeated dual season and the Eastern Sprints Championship. The crew came short of the national championship at the IRA, but continued on to the Henley Royal Regatta where they won the Ladies' Plate. Not only did the Brown Eight win the final against the German's Under 23 Eight, but they beat the crew that they had lost to at the IRA on the way.

Roop launched his coaching career in the fall of 1990 when he was named interim head coach of the varsity men's crew at Princeton University. From Princeton, he moved to Temple University in Philadelphia where he coached the women's crew in the spring of 1991.

A 1979 graduate of Buffalo State University in 1979, Roop captured first place in the single scull event in the 1981 World Championships in Munich, Germany. Roop was the last United States male athlete to win that event and was awarded the Vesper Cup, given to the outstanding crew or person in rowing for 1981. During his career, he also represented the United States in several world championships, earning medals in the eight, double, and single-sculls competitions. In 1992, Roop was inducted into the United States Rowing Hall of Fame.