Men's Crew History

Brown Men’s Crew History

1857- Rowing is initiated as the first organized sport at Brown.

1859- Brown’s first intercollegiate race is held against Harvard and Yale.

1875- Brown is admitted to the Rowing Association of American Colleges.

1949- Crew at Brown is revived and is known as the Brown Rowing Association.

1961- Crew gains full varsity status.

1962- Vic Michaelson is appointed the first full-time crew coach and Brown joins the EasternAssociation of Rowing Colleges

1966- The Hunter S. Marston Boathouse is built. Brown also makes its first-ever appearance at the Royal Henley Regatta.

1970- The freshman crew wins the Intercollegiate Rowing Association Championship.

1971- The junior varsity wins the Eastern Sprints-Brown’s first Sprints victory.

1979- Michalson’s varsity crew captures Brown’s first-ever varsity IRA Championship.

1981- The freshman crew wins the IRA and Steve Gladstone succeeds Michalson as the headcoach at the conclusion of the season.

1983- The varsity claims its second IRA Championship.

1984- Brown’s varsity claims the Eastern Sprints and Ladies Challenge Plate in course-record timeat the Royal Henley Regatta.

1986- Varsity is IRA Champion for the third time.

1987- The varsity claims the Eastern Sprints, IRA Championship and places second at Nationals.

1988- Jon Smith ’83 and Ted Patton ’88 followed up a gold medal performance in the 1987 WorldChampionships with a bronze medal in the Seoul Olympic Games as part of the United States Olympic Eight. Smith was also named the “Oarsman of the Year” by the United States Rowing Association.

1992- For the first time in Brown history, the freshman crew are undefeated Eastern Sprints and IRA Champions. Christian Sahs ’93, Malcolm Baker ’91 and John Smith ’83 compete for the United States Olympic team in Barcelona, Spain. In addition, Xeno Muller ’96 rowed for the Swiss Olympic team and Igor Boraska ’95 made the Croation National team.

1993- The varsity goes undefeated through the dual meet season and then captures racing’s “triplecrown”-the Eastern Sprints, IRA and National Championship. The crew culminates the season atthe Royal Henley Regatta and wins the Ladies Challenge Plate.

1994- The varsity repeats its triple crown victories and the freshman crew is undefeated as well,going on to also win the Thames Cup at the Rpyal Henley Regatta. Freshman coach Scott Roopsucceeds Steve Gladstone as the head coach in August and Paul Cooke ’89 is named thefreshman coach. Jamie Koven ’95 wins the gold medal in the World Rowing Championship men’seight.

1995- Roop leads the varsity to a third consecutive IRA and National Collegiate Championship. The freshman crew capture the Eastern Sprints.

1996- Igor Boraska (Croatia), Porter Collins (USA), Jamie Koven (USA), Xeno Muller (Switzerland),Dave Simon (USA) and Nikola Stojic (Yugoslavia) compete at the Olympic Games in Atlanta. Koven and Collins race in the U.S. Eight. Muller wins the gold medal in the single.

1997- The varsity and the junior varsity win silver medals at the nationals. Jamie Koven ’95, coached by Scott Roop, wins the World Championship for the United States in the single scull.

1999- The varsity and freshmen are second at the Eastern Sprints and the freshmen go on to winthe IRA, setting a new course record. Porter Collins ’98 wins a gold medal in the US Eight at the World Championships.

2000- The varsity, junior varsity and freshman crews record undefeated dual race season. The varsity and junior varsity win the Eastern Sprints while the junior varsity also wins the IRA. The varsity finished second in the nation. The varsity and junior varsity compete at Henley, with the varsity winning the Ladies’ Plate. Seven Brown Rowers compete at Sydney.

2003- Men's crew placed three of four boats in the grand finals of the Eastern Sprints championships. The varsity finished fifth, third varsity finished fifth and the freshman eight finished in fourth. The varsity also won the petite final at the IRA Championships.

2005- Both varsity squads led Brown at the Eastern Sprints by capturing gold for the Bears. Varsity eight finished fifth in the grand final while the second varsity finished fifth in the petite final. Four teams competed in petite finals at the IRA Championships with the freshman eight leading the way with a victory. The varsity finished fourth while the varsity four both with and without coxswain finished in fifth.

2006- The varsity earned a bronze medal at the Eastern Sprints, their best finish since the 2000 season. The varsity captured bronze at the IRA Championship, as well as the Chapman Award as the most improved team at the regatta. The second varsity eight finished 6th in their grand final race while the freshman eight won in the petite final.

2007- The men's varsity finished fourth in the Grand Finals of the IRA Championship while the second varsity eight finished sixth. The freshman eight recorded a second place finish. at the EARC Sprints, the freshman eight recorded a victory in the grand finals while the varsity finished 5th in the grand finals.

2008- The varsity finished second overall and captured the Ivy League title while the freshman eight recorded a third place finish. Eight members of the team earned All-Ivy Honors. The team earned a fifth place finish at the IRA Championships, led by the second varsity finishing sixth in the grand final.

2009- Capped a stellar season by sweeping all five events at the EARC Sprints, earning the Ivy-League title in the process. At the IRA Championships the Bears were led by the second varsity eight and freshman eight finishing second and third respectively. Varsity Eight took home fourth at the championships while the varsity four finished eighth overall. 

2010- The varsity finished third at the EARC sprints with second varsity eight winning their Grand Final. The Bears placed three boats in the top-five nationally, highlighted by the second varsity eight winning silver. Gavin Crynes earned Academic All-Ivy after leading the team to an undefeated regular season and a fifth place finish at the IRA Championships. 

2011- The varsity finished fourth at the EARC sprints, while the freshman eight finished first in the petite finals. The varsity finished fifth and the team also finished fifth at the IRA Championships. The varsity and open four boat's earned second place finishes. Rower Benn Dann '12 and coxswain Leigh Carroll '12, both members of the Brown men's crew, represented the United States at the U23 World Championships in Amsterdam, The Netherlands. Carroll was the coxswain for the women's eight who earned bronze while Dann finished 11th in the men's single competetion.

2012- Men's Varsity Eight claimed victory in the 67th EARC sprints, earning both the EARC title as well as the Ivy League title, their first since 2009. The team finished second in the nation with both the Varsity Eight and Second Varsity Eight finishing second. Brown sent all five boats to the Grand Finals during the championships. The Bears finished second in the Grand Challenge Cup (8+) as well as a second place finish in Temple Challenge Cup (8+). 

2013- The varsity finished second at the EARC sprints, while second and third varsity claimed victories. In the IRA National Championship, the varsity finished third overall while the team finished second overall in team points. The varsity four finished third in the grand finals while the freshman eight and second varsity finished second overall.