109 Years of Brown Basketball

Mike Cingiser '62

February 17, 1901 – Brown records its first intercollegiate basketball victory with a 29-10 decision over Holy Cross at Brown’s Lyman Gymnasium.

February 2, 1938 – Harry Platt tosses in 48 points, while converting 21 field goals, against Northeastern. Both the 48 points and 21 field goals remain Brown records.

March 17, 1939 – Brown faces Villanova in the first NCAA Tournament game ever played, falling to the Wildcats, 42-30, in Philadelphia. The Bears posted a record of 16-4 under coach George E. Allen.

1946-47 – Weeb Ewbank completes his only season as head coach of the Bears. He went on to coach the New York Jets to the Super Bowl Championship in 1969.

February 9, 1955 – Ed Tooley pulls down a school record 32 rebounds against Northeastern. He still holds the record for rebounding in a career with 16.5 rebounds per game.

1962 – Mike Cingiser becomes Brown’s all-time scorer with 1,331 points. He also ended his career with 490 field goals, placing him 1st for all-time field goals.

March 9, 1971 – Rusty Tyler connects on 46 points with 18 field goals against Rhode Island, the second best scoring performance in Brown history. Tyler finished his career fourth in all-time scoring for the Bears with 1,133 career points.

February 4, 1972 – Arnie Berman establishes a new Brown record for free throws made in a game with 25. He finished the 1971-72 season with 658 points scored in a season, which are the most points ever scored in a season, and went on to became Brown’s all-time leading scorer, with 1,668 points, a mark that stood for 30 years.

1973 – Captain Phil Brown led the Bears to a school record 17 victories under coach Gerald Alaimo. Brown’s 11-3 Ivy mark was good for second place in the Ivy League standings.

March 5, 1983 – Mike Waitkus registers a record-setting 10 steals against Dartmouth. Waitkus completed his career with Brown records in assists (577), and individual steals (187). He also boasts the all-time mark for free throw percentage of .861.

1986 – Brown captures its first ever Ivy League Championship and advances to the NCAA Playoffs behind the efforts of Ivy Player of the Year Jim Turner. Coach Mike Cingiser’s team posts an overall record of 16-11.

February 17, 1987 – Patrick Lynch set a school record of 3-pointers vs. Dartmouth, draining eight treys in the first year the 3-point line was introduced. Lynch scored 42 points in the game against the Big Green.

December 1, 1991 – Brown beat Providence College, 71-69, in an overtime game for the first win over the Friars since the 1978-79 season.

January 15, 2000 – Earl Hunt scored 39 points and made 17 free throws in a victory over Harvard. Hunt went on to become a three-time All Ivy player and Brown’s all-time leading scorer with 2,041 points.

2002-03 – Coach Glen Miller’s team ties the record for wins in a season (17) for the second straight year and earns its first ever berth in the National Invitation Tournament (NIT).  The Bears’ 12 Ivy League wins are a new school record including Brown’s first ever win at Princeton.

March 19, 2003 – Alai Nuualiitia starts his 110th consecutive game for the Bears and sets an Iron Man record by starting every game in his career at Brown. Nuualiitia finished his career with 1,344 career points.

February 27, 2004 – Jason Forte records what is believed to be the first triple-double in Brown history with 11 points, 10 assists, and 12 rebounds vs. Dartmouth. Forte was named the Ivy Player of the Year in 2004 and scored 1,597 career points (3rd all time).

March 18, 2008 – Senior Damon Huffman ties a Brown record with nine three-point baskets against Ohio University in the first round of the College Basketball Invitational. Huffman also established new Brown marks for treys in a season (82) and career (232).

March 6, 2009 – Junior Matt Mullery turns in one of the greatest performances in Brown basketball history by registering a 20-20 double-double against Harvard, scoring 21 points and grabbing 20 rebounds in a win over the Crimson to become the first Bruno player in 25 years to grab 20 rebounds in a game, and the first player in 35 years to register a 20-20 double-double.

February 4, 2011 - Freshman guard Sean McGonagill exploded for a career high 39 points, including 28 points in the second half, to tie the Pizzitola Sports Center scoring record and lead the Bears to an 87-79 Ivy League win over Columbia. McGonagill took a knee to his face at practice on the Wednesday prior, missed practice on Thursday, and took the court in the Friday game with a protective mask after receiving 20 stitches.  

July 2012 - Former Brown basketball standout Mike Martin ’04 is named the 31st head men’s basketball coach in the program’s 109-year history. 

March 17, 2014 - Sophomore Cedric Kuakumensah, the Ivy League's Defensive Player of the Year, establishes a new Ivy League record for blocked shot in a season with 93, vs. Holy Cross in the CollegeInsider.com Postseason Tournament.

Brown’s 100th Season
All-Decade Teams (1900-2006)

Edward Benjamin ’04
Paul DeWolf ’05
J. Russell McKay ’11
Lou Piere ’20
J. Donald Pryor ’08
Oscar Rackle ’06
William Reynolds ’07
William Sprackling ’12
Harold Swaffield ’10
John von der Leith ’12

Emory Danzell Jr. ’26
John Heffernan ’28
Elmer Joslyn ’23
Arthur Miller ’22
George Mitchell ’25
Joseph Tuckerman ’25
William Wagenknecht ’25

Leonard Campbell ’40
J.R. Caulkins ’32
Carl Floren ’35
Oscar Hammer ’34
E. Kenneth Kennedy ’37
Alfred Morcom ’37
Raymond Noonan ’36
Harry Platt ’40
P.A. Snyder ’31
George Truman ’39

John Bach ’46
Ernest Blakey ’45
George Delaney ’43
George Grimshaw ’47
Frederick Kozak ’50
Francis Mahoney ’50
John Padden ’41
Robert Person ’41
Edward Sheffe ’42
Francis Wilson ’41

James Alaimo ’58
B. William Arnold ’55
Clifford Ehrlich ’60
John Lyden ’57
Charles Merritt ’56
Ludwig Murgo ’54
Allan Poulsen ’59
David Reed ’60
Joseph Tebo ’58
Ed Tooley ’55

Eugene Barth ’63
Forrest Broman ’61
Michael Cingiser ’62
Fran Driscoll ’64
Alan Fishman ’67
Greg Heath ’62
Rodger Hurley ’61
Richard Landau ’68
William Reynolds ’69
R. David Tarr ’65

Arnold Berman ’72
Phillip Brown ’75
James Burke ’74
S. James Busam ’75
William Kolkmeyer ’72
Charles Mack ’79
Edward Morris ’75
Peter Moss ’80
Brian Saunders ’77
Russell Tyler ’71

Alex Bynum ’84
Ira James ’85
Patrick Lynch ’87
John McBride ’84
Todd Mulder ’85
Todd Murray ’87
Robert Stanley ’81
Marcus Thompson ’90
James Turner ’86
Michael Waitkus ’86

Eric Blackiston ’96
Jonathan Drezner ’92
James Joseph ’96
Joel Koplik ’95
Paul Krasinski ’98
Brian Lloyd ’96
Richard Lloyd ’92
Kirk Lowry ’92
Kamal Rountree ’99
Charles Savage ’92

Shaun Etheridge ’02
Jason Forte ’05
Earl Hunt ’03
Jaime Kilburn ’04
Mike Martin ’04
Alai Nuualiitia ’03
Patrick Powers ’04
Luke Ruscoe ’06
Omari Ware ’02
Jesse Wood ’02