Brown Fencing Goes Undefeated at Eric Sollee Invitational

Brown Fencing Goes Undefeated at Eric Sollee Invitational

Waltham, Mass. – The Brown fencing squad continued its impressive 2012, going undefeated at the Eric Solle Invitational, hosted by Brandeis. The Brown men's & women's teams defeated New York University, Johns Hopkins, Haverford and Hunter at the Grossman Center on Saturday.

"It was another very nice weekend for the fencing team," said head coach Atilio Tass. "For both the men's and women's teams to go undefeated was a good sign for team, looking towards the Ivy League Championship."

The men scored 20 points against both Hunter (26-1) and Haverford (22-5), and topped NYU, 19-8, before taking a close win versus Hopkins, 15-12.

The women put up 20 points against Hunter as well (20-6), and downed Haverford,16-11, while taking two tightly contested matches against NYU (15-12) and Johns Hopkins (14-13).

Rookie Barrett Weiss (Barrington, R.I.) was perfect in the men's foil, going 10-0, while Alexander Chiclana (Cambridge, Mass.) also posted 10 individual points in the epee, going 10-2.

In the men's saber, two fencers totaled 11 points.  Both junior Teddy Weller (Barrington, R.I.) and sophomore Nick Deak (San Diego, Calif.) went 11-1 in their weapon.

Sophomore Kathryn Hawrot (Barrington, R.I.) went perfect for women, going 7-0 in the foil. Junior Avery Nackman (Katonah, N.Y.) was not far off the pace in the foil, going 6-1.

Junior Cory Abbe (Scappoose, Ore.) and sophomore Laney Caldwell (Indian Springs. Ala.) went 9-1 in the epee, while both juniors Kathy Nguyen and Tanya Nguyen (Roswell, Ga.) went 2-0.

Brown fencing will compete next at the Ivy League Championships at Princeton, next weekend, February 11 and 12.



Brown vs.
NYU 19-8
JHU 15-12
Haverford 22-5
Hunter 26-1

Women's vs.
NYU 15-12
JHU 14-13
Haverford 16-11
Hunter 20-6

Individual Scores

Men's Foil
Barrett Weiss 10-0
Joshua Grill 6-2
Andrew Pintea 6-3
James Golin 2-7

Men"s Epee
Alexander Chiclana 10-2
Kelly McGuire 9-3
Benjamin McDonald 7-5

Men's Saber
Teddy Weller 11-1
Nick Deak 11-1
Peter Tyson 8-2
Benedict Chen 2-0

Women's Foil
Kathryn Hawrot 7-0
Avery Nackman 6-1
Hannah Kolus 5-2
Yukiko Kunitomo 3-4
Vivian Truong 3-4

Women's Epee
Cory Abby 9-1
Laney Caldwell 9-1
Hailey Huddleston 7-5
Kathy Nguyen 2-0
Tanya Nguyen 2-0

Women's Saber
Christine Whalen 5-4
Sammantha Gross 4-8
Chistina Johantgen 0-9
Roxanne Alaghband 0-4
Christen Dillard 0-2